I love you too


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
March 5th 2006
Published: March 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Quatro amigosQuatro amigosQuatro amigos

Being goofy in Opera Bay!
Haha, I mean I love U2!!!

I've got morning classes now, which are going great, but sometimes I get a little sleepy in the afternoons. So I nap. And I napped on Wednesday until about 5pm. I'm in the bathroom, washing my face, putting my eyes back in, etc., and the doorbell keeps buzzing. I keep doing what I'm doing cuz I'm thinking to myself that noone really knows exactly where I live so it's obviously not for me, and I didn't want to be bothered. So finally the buzzer stops. A couple minutes later, someone knocks on the door. I'm thinking, this persistant little bugger! And also you need a key to get into the building and I'm wondering who let them in. I look out in the peephole and it's the building manager. He says that some guy downstairs says he knows me, he's got a ponytail, and then he says he's from France. All of a sudden I realize that it's Kim, my flatmate from Montpellier. I knew he was going to be in town around this time, but didn't really know any details. So I went downstairs and saw his smiling, familiar face, which was great.
BFFsBFFsBFFs

Kim and Marco, well after sunrise
He asked what I was doing and I said I was going to a futbol (soccer) game with some friends. Then he said that he had an extra ticket to the U2 concert that night, that he was going to just give to me, so I said screw soccer, I'm going to U2!

Flippin amazing (in G-rated lingo)!!! The best concert I've seen to date. I can say that I've never been a fanatic of U2, but I think they put on the greatest show and were just so perfect. Also, Franz Ferdinand opened up for them, and they were quite good also. It was Kim, his 2 friends Marco and Antoine, and I...standing in the center for a good 5 hours. We looked like a bunch of old fogeys afterwards. "Ohh my back...ohhh my feet...oh I've got to sit down!!" But it was amazing, let me stress that fact. Aside from taking the wrong bus at the end of the night and getting to bed at 4am instead of 2, it was a phenomenal day!!!

Yeah, so Kim and his friends are here for three weeks, about one and half left to go. They've been really hitting the meat hard and loving everything about the prices. For example, we left a club last night/this morning at 7am, and we went to a restaurant and they each had huge steaks!! At 8 in the morning! Those crazy kids. Then we went back to their apartment with two of my friends and we started laying out at the pool and swimming at 9 (there were even other people there, too!). I got to bed around 11 and woke up half three - I'm gonna sleep good tonight! It's great to see them again and relearn to speak French. I sometimes mix Spanish and French, but it's quite similar so they get the jist. The only thing missing from the picture is Mia...

Also, before we went out on Saturday, I went with several of my friends to Talkarama. hehe, great name! It's an organized group of conversation exchange, where there are English speakers and Spanish speakers and you just spend the two hours talking, switching between languages so everyone can practice what they're there to practice. There was about fifteen people total, and some of the people there are fluent in both languages and are just there to meet people from new cultures. It was great fun. Afterward we were all going to eat together (we had met in a restaurant, but just for coffee and such), but ended up meeting one of our other friends at the last minute. So I am sure to return next week, it's good way to meet locals.

I have a couple more friends that are leaving this week, Antonia and Mary. Mary's the one who is moving to San Diego, so I'm sure I'll see her again. But some people are coming back, so it balances the scale I guess.

No huge plans yet for this week, but that could change in five minutes. Life is beautiful.

Chau, Tara



Advertisement



6th March 2006

So Awesome
Man, that's so great they came to visit and had an extra ticket to U2, WHO'S THE LUCKIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD?

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb