Market Day


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
October 2nd 2005
Published: October 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Funniest little old lady ever!Funniest little old lady ever!Funniest little old lady ever!

Go on love bang them drums!!!
Today we went to San Telmo (where tango first originated, not the drink the dance!). San Telmo is an old cobbled area full of little bars, cafes, restaurants and tango show bars. The market had some crafts but was mainly an antique market (dad allen you would have loved it!). The streets (like in Brazil) have food sellers everywhere cooking various things from hotdogs, sweet nuts, meat things and pastries (we have tried these traditional snacks).
There were a lot of street entertainers ranging from tango dancers, puppeters, live statues, singers. Andy was transfixed on a little old lady who was playing spray can tops with drum sticks, blowing a homemade horn made out of spray can tops and tapping her foot in a tap shoe. Occassionaly she would hold up a dollar sign! He thought it was very funny! I had to drag him away after 15 mins!

We had lunch in a restaurant with a free tango and malango dancing. This was good. After another full day walking (our legs are really begginning to ache now!) we went back and chilled on the plaza near evita building (government building) then went to Florida street again. More walking and then chilled in the mosquito filled hostel.(They seem to feast on us, Mel has 6 on her face alone)



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



9th October 2005

Randomly found your blog!
Hello there, I have randomly come across your blog today and I was compelled to leave a comment. I was fascinated! I am Brazilian but I live in the US. It was fantastic for me to see your reaction to a holiday in Rio. I hope you had fun despite the culture shock! It's funny to see how everything is so cheap to you, how you're outraged at the police's corruption and shocked by just how backward everything is. I guess it is just refreshing for me to see your perspective on the problems people in Brazil just got used to living with day in day out. I hope you still managed to get a sense for how happy and positive the people are despite all the challenges, it's by far the most impressive aspect of the country and one of the things I miss the most. Anyway, I wish you all the best at the end of your trip and compliment you for your sense of adventure!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb