What a long week...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
August 7th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Katie's 1st hamburger!Katie's 1st hamburger!Katie's 1st hamburger!

After many years Katie eats MEAT!
This has probably been when of the longest weeks of my life! In good ways and bad ways.

Good: I met some new people who are very cool and a lot of fun. They make it much easier to live in a place so different from home. My host family is amazing! The older kids are home now and the house is always filled with tons of noise. There are 4 kids total, Joaquin the baby is only 14 months old and is the most adorable child on earth. Santiago is 11 and Dolores 14, they are both super sweet and very easy to live with. Tomas is the oldest, hes 17, he speaks perfect english (which is nice to have at home) and has been telling me different things to do around the city. My host parents Mariana and Alex and wonderful. They speak wonderful English and have been super helpful (Mariana even straightened my hair for me!).

Bad: The city is huge! Its like a giant Spanish speaking NYC. Except there is NO central park. I need GRASS, AIR, and a place to run! (Hopefully the last will be solved when Katie and I join a gym
Soap on a rodSoap on a rodSoap on a rod

The popular to wash your hands at school...
this week). The pollution has really been getting to Katie, Danielle, and I. With tons of trips planned, including one to an estancia (Argentine ranch) this weekend, I think we will soon be out of this slump.

I have learned lots of things about these Argentines the past week. 1. They LOVE sugar. It's on and in everything. However the irony is that things in the grocery store, like granola bars and yogurt, have WAY less sugar than anything in the States. 2.They also love coffee, tea, and mate. They are constantly drinking caffine except there is no such thing as a to-go cup. If you want a drink you have to sit down in one of the many cafes. Drinking coffee here is an experience, not just a pick me up. Which is why, I'm assuming, you wait 20 minutes for the waiter to take your order and 20 min to recieve the bill after you have cleaned your plate and emptied your cup. I like this slow moving activity... its a great contrast to the fast paced city.
3.The women here really are beautiful! They are all stick skinny and perfectly dressed. However, they seem to always
La SalleLa SalleLa Salle

My school!
me eating! (It must be all the walking around this vast city that burns the calories). 4. BA is a city FULL of love. There are constantly people making out on park benches, in cafes, at bars, wherever! But as Danielle put it, it's kind of nice to see so much love in a city where it would be easy to get caught up in cold hard cement. Tango is the national dance (We had our first lesson today! It was tons of fun... hopefully next time I won't be so hungry because I was getting grumpy haha) and it is one of the most sensual dances I've ever seen. Look it up on YouTube... you'll see what I mean. 5. Last my certainly not least... they love their dogs here! Most everyone has one and since everyone lives in apartments dog walkers are seen throughout the day. Some walk only big dogs, some only small (I regularly see a man walking a heard of 10 Yorkies), and some walk a mix. All the dogs wear clothes...just a jacket or a full soccer jersey complete with pants and all. With all dogs being walked and little grass to be found I am constantly on the look out for piles of poo on the sidewalk and stairs.

I still haven't gotten an USB cord for my camera so the pictures will have to wait till next time.

More adventures to come!

Advertisement



Tot: 1.88s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 1.8559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb