Tango-ing the day away...


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires
July 31st 2005
Published: July 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

so my first full day i managed to fit in more culture than one of the lads who stays here has done in 5 weeks. he said that himself. Got up still pretty tired, then a group of us went to la boca - such a great place, exactly like all the pictures u see. We had lunch at a place where they danced tango next to you, so cool. of course being the girl i am i sat with my back to the show and managed to spill my dinner down me, so ended up with a crick in my neck and stains down my trousers. only me.

so much tango in the streets, it was great. we saw this one old old man dancing with a young, slightly embarrassed looking girl. we all said stuff like aaah isnt that nice, as we watched. this changed to ´dirty old man´ as we saw him finish with that girl, deposit her at her table, and move onto her friend. they couldnt say no!

After la boca, we went en masse to the harbour and watched the sunset over a drink, and a lively group chat about terrorism and whether
Puerto MaderoPuerto MaderoPuerto Madero

Paul and Chris at Puerto Madero
or not prisons should be shit holes. Listening to a facist and a feminist liberal fight it out was very amusing. We went back to the hostel where one of the guys invited me out with him and his lady friend to see a tango music gig. Shes a random 50 year old woman he met in a bar, but shes lovely and she works in fashion, hangs out with male models a lot, so i jumped at the chance (joke, al)

anyway, i found myself going to this random warehouse down a random street being introduced to members of the band, all very kissy kissy on cheeks and stuff. It was a good moment as i sat listening to the music that i realised there was no other british people there apart from us. am i cultured or what!! After that we went to a thai restaurant (like london, u could eat any type of food on earth in BA) Me and Lisa were seriously flagging so we went home at 2am - very early by BA standards, where stuff doesnt get going until 2, and people tend to go home at 6, 7 in the morning. god help me with my chronic tiredness!

Got up at lunch today, me and Lisa went for a wander, found this enormous park, it was so lovely, decided im gonna go there when i want some peace and quiet, sit by the lake and read, or something equally romantic. oooh, mum, its got a section thats based on Andalucia, donated by Seville, all terracota tiles and everything, you´d love it. Came home and have basically just been chilling with the others, watching films and playing guess who? with the hostel owners daughter. quite tricky in spanish with a 5 year old!
right, this is me over and out. miss everyone loads!

Em xxxx

Advertisement



1st August 2005

Hey up gorgeous
Hey up Glad to c u are having a good time...looking rather fetching on the photograph may I say...although a little bit drunk!! Wish I was in ur shoes, eventhough they are a bit smelly! Got so so much work on at the minute but going on jollyday on sept 1st!! come on!! I thinks me and u have some serious catchin up to do when you return...not seen much of u these past few years!! Take care, love ya lots Davidus Maximus
20th August 2005

Hola
Hi Em, glad to here all going well. It sounds as if you're having a class time. Spain was amazing as was the holiday after with Alex. We went to San Sebastien, Biarritz, other random places in the south of France, drove through the Pyrenees(v scary when I'm behind the wheel!), Andorra and back to Zaragoza. I got my house sorted at the weekend and am living round the corner to work-how good is that!I'm quite near to Jo and Jo ritchie too which is nice. Home at the moment and then off to the real world on the 3rd-scared but excited. Keep having fun. Jill Was talking to Steph and glad your Mum is OK. Ps. Miss you.

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb