The award goes to.....


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
January 22nd 2011
Published: January 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

And the award for the most awful chandelier goes to.......... (drum roll please) the Tango Hostel Inn on Chile Street! In fact there are three of them (awful chandeliers)in the social room, all wobbling in time with the air con fans, the shade (yes, shades) are pink and the glass/plastic is snake shaped, I will photograph them.

I have written a post which I will publish when I have left the country, perhaps having seen the mothers of the missing I am learning to be slightly poitical about voicing my opinion. However, the city is really amazing, its character changes within a block or so in an area. We walked to the area which the British invaded in the nineteenth century and visited the museum of Argentinian history. The photographs of the people who came over are really intriguing, rather formidable looking women dressed up to the nines and men who form their clubs, play golf and rule a foreign country! There were lovely exhibits which made the human connection - letters to Father Christmas, school photographs and paintings of what can only be described a Jane Austen type party.

This museum was in the park which had a huge arena area around an enormous chess board. Yes, it is different! There were also concrete tables with inset chess boards surrounding the arena, so the game seems popular. There was also a beautiful Russian Orthodox Church in the area, the onions were that lovely light blue with the crosses chained to the base of the onions. They face east and the chains are traditional.

We also visited the Museum of Modern Art which has some prints by my favourite painter - Sonia Delauney, just in case someone sees one of her pictures and wants to buy a present! But the best part was the new staircase. The building was a tobacco warehouse which has been renovated extremely well.

Tomorrow we take another plane ride to Patagonia, to Trelew which is rather fun as we lived near Trelewis in Wales on our return from Africa. So the tent will be in use, real travelling starts then!

I dont want to worry you - but friends who have travelled with me know that my sense of direction is non-existant. The person I am travelling with is similarly afflicted, so far we regard the "walking in the wrong direction" as training for the rest of the trip. There is an agreement in force now that says we will both carry maps and compare ideas before setting off in any direction. W1 I know you will love this idea! Perhaps I should say I may see you again in March.....

Sorry about the punctuation - this is yet another different keyboard which has all sorts of accents, so apostrophes are not considered worthy of a key!

Advertisement



22nd January 2011

politics and electronics
Still not kidnapped then mum..... Good to see you are having an interesting trip so far. I love the fact that you are concerned that the authorities may be reading your blog and might make you disappear for saying how terrible the plight of the "mothers of the missing" is...never let real life get in the way of a good conspiracy theory!! You may be wondering why the title of the post is "politics and electronics"....well the politics bit (or I should probably say poitics) is clear from the last paragraph; but the electronics bit has made me laugh out loud reading your blog. I think that almost my last question to you before you departed was whether you expected to get your computer working on this trip or whether it would just be ballast in the rucksack while you sought out internet cafes.......given that your own keyboard probably hasnt changed I assume the latter to be the case :-) Keep up the good work on your postings...I can feel the culture flowing around me as I read them. Glad the tent usage and proper traveling are about to commence...Enjoy!
22nd January 2011

Direction !!!!!!
At last you have admitted your sense of direction is questionable !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
22nd January 2011

Punctuation?
Half way across the world, and you're worried about a few lost apostrophes? just remember to take note of a landmark that is higher than you, and you'll be OK! Have fun
22nd January 2011

diection
Well, at leat I didnt lead a squad of men astray 111
22nd January 2011

electronics
Hah - glad you are concerned, the blooming thing was working at home. However, I can save lots of blog entries on it!! As for the kidnapping, we are leaving the wildlife now, so your bargaining skills should not be needed till we return to BA.
24th January 2011

machines...
It is working! We are down in Puerto Madryn now. The clue to the non working notebook was an engineer sorting out the router as we left. It sems tht saying things are not working is not done!!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb