Buenos Aires.


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 15th 2006
Published: March 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

When we last spoke I was eluding border officials in Brazil. After a brief stint in a Brazillian prison... I made my way back into Argentina. (Last Friday I was in Brazil twice.)

I got into Puerto Iguazu too late to catch the bus to Buenos Aires that day, so I spent the night there, again. I was able to cut out around 2 on an eighteen hour journey to Retiro bus station in Buenos Aires.

Our bus was stopped by national police five hours into the journey. Apparently someone had sent a kilo of marijuana in the cargo hold of the bus. It took an hour, but they finally let our bus continue on.

I got to BA on Sunday morning. I went to different hostels, but none had rooms. I met a Danish girl, and we were able to find a place close to the center... Lime House. After we got settled, we walked to San Telmo, the Tango district, to check out the Sunday markets.

On Sunday night I went to the pizzeria beneath my hostal. (4,80 Pesos for a big pizza) I ran into the first person I met on my journey. This Israeli guy from the plane to Costa Rica. I went back to his hostal, and then we went out to BarDuck, I was the only person not from Israel. It was fun though.

On Monday, I went to La Boca, the colorful southern district. All of the houses are painted with crazy colors, because when it was first settled, the inahabitants painted their houses with left over paint from the ships in the local harbor. Cool.

Yesterday I walked around and went shopping. I was able to spend too much money, on a sweater, weird shoes, and ribs.

Last night I went to a Purim party. When you are a Jewish kid in California, you celebrate Purim by dressing up at hebrew school and eating three-sided cookies. But someone once told me that Purim in Israel was crazy as fuck. They said it was like Halloween plus New Years plus Bolivian National Protected Lands day COMBINED. There is also a saying, that on Purim you should get so drunk you don´t remember your own name.

With the help of several non-Jews, determined to learn more about Jewish culture, we went to the Israeli Purim party....

yeah so there was a lot of build up to this, don´t get me wrong the party was really fun... but I mean it wasn´t as crazy as I had expected...

Anyway...

Tonight I´m going out with the Buenos Aires kids who I met at Carnaval, should be some good local fun.

I´ll be in Buenos Aires til Sunday, then a mad dash back to Lima for my flight on 31 March.

Paz Afuera.

Advertisement



18th March 2006

dude you must meet my homie Christ in Buenos Aires before you leave
I could have put that title in the body for ease of reading. My homie Chris Testa is in Buenos Aires for this entire year teaching English through some program. He's entertaining and has a penchant for adventure. I told him you were in town although I have no idea how you two would meet. I told him he could ask around for a Jew from California with horn-rimmed glasses and puffy hair. Anyway, have fun, though you don't seem to need outside encouragement. PEace

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb