What are you doing?


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 14th 2006
Published: March 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Another good day. Two in a row now. Full of laughs and a giggle here and there. Edd, the newbie Jenni and I are the only ones in the house. It feels big, spacious, some how fancy here. I don't know how it feels fancy really. Its just that with the three giggling bafoons it feels like this place isn't ours. We are playing house. I suppose the feeling of playing house makes it feel "fancy". It's true though...grown up things are fancy.

Practice Teaching #2



...was today and I did an awesome job. The lesson was building "Where is / are" and "what is doing" into a dialog. My main activity was giving one person a piece of paper with a name of a city. They were suppose to be in that city. Another person was suppose to call them on the phone and ask "where are you? What are you doing?"

This morning I woke up later than I wanted and realized that I had not drawn a picture of a phone for my planned activity. I didnt have time at the house so I figured I would make one at school. By an odd stroke of luck I was given something better. On a corner near school there was a huge pile of broken phones. I grabbed the face of an abandon cordless phone and was on my way. The students LOVED the activity. They were getting so into it. The best part was how creative they were getting with their answers and moving away from the verbs we had learned and trying out new ones. Like in Hong Kong someone was eating sushi (not covered in our lesson) and someone was touring Central Park in New York City. Their creativity showed me that they really got what we were doing and because of their creativity were absorbing the knowledge.

HIGH FIVE FOR ME....AND A PAT ON THE BACK

Advertisement



19th March 2006

You go girl!
pat on the back and a high five to you, m'dearie.
21st March 2006

Proud Dad
Recognizing the obvious escapes so many; good job seeing the phones. Making learning fun is an art that also escapes many, again; good job.

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb