Reflextion


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
March 11th 2006
Published: March 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I just woke up and my eyes feel like they're filled with jam....sticky, gooey, and full of seeds.

Last night Fee and I went up to the terrace drinking wine over some giggles. We talked about teaching styles and hermaphrodites. It reminded me of a girl I was talking to earlier in the day saying how boring it is to live in a hostel because you always talk about the same thing: where are you from, where are you going, where have you been....I am so thankful that I do not live in a hostel. I can travel through my struggles and joys everyday and come home and share them with someone. Here there is someone who knows what you like in your coffee and celebrates life with you.

Yesterday was my first practice teaching session. It was a 60 minute beginning class with adults and I was amazing. I didnt get the best feed back of the day because I taught how I teach....what I know works and it didnt fit into what Bridge Linguatec wants their teachers to be. I was warm, I used a lot of movement and facial gestures, I was funny and charming and after the lesson they all ran up to me asking me questions and giving me kisses goodbye. It felt really good.

For a day I didnt know if I was going to like this course. It seems too focused on "their way of teaching"...I need to join them and follow them into teaching nirvana. No. What I do like is how they focus on facilitating, not lecturing and speaking only English. Note taking is looked down on with the belief that taking notes is distracting and provides a crutch for the student when really the student should be speaking, stumbeling through it, making mistakes and getting better through trial and error...its fabulous.

Send letters and phone calls to:

Lizzz Honeycutt
Brasil 409 Piso 2
(C1154AAE) Buenos Aires
ARGENTINA

PHONE: 011541143626267

I am waiting




Advertisement



13th March 2006

Autonomy
Lizzz...don't let them remove your autonomy - your right to teach in your own style.... I know you won't and I know you'll be a great ESL teacher because it's a bit of a performance art and you are, and have been as long as I've known you (aka. forever), a great performance artist! And, your postings are much appreciated, since I didn't respond to that earlier. As I've said before, I appreciate being able to live vicariously through your insightful entries! luv, cali
13th March 2006

I agree about the hostels. I prefeer to rent my own apartment. I did that in january. I contrated Stay in Buenos Aires http://www.stayinbuenosaires.com and I rented an equiped apartment. It was very easy and without burocracy that you imagine for renting an apartment. They also offer a complete source of services for traveller. The prices are not expensive becouse the service is really great. And Argentina is a very cheap country for travellers becouse of the change dollar-peso.
17th March 2006

focus
Lizzz, Focus on what the instructors want is important now but I know you will make learning fun when you are set free. Lew E

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb