Buenos Aires-Day 3 (9-26-09)


Advertisement
Argentina's flag
South America » Argentina » Buenos Aires » Buenos Aires
October 4th 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Plaza San Martin
We didn´t want to spend our time in Buenos Aires sleeping to so we met at 9 am on Saturday morning to go sight-seeing. We all went down for breakfast together. I had tea and bread again. I kind of wanted to go to the art museum in BA called the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes. It was near a lot of stuff that we had driven past yesterday and wanted to see up close. We decided that it wouldn´t be too far to walk. We kind of took the scenic route but sometimes that is more fun. We saw an art class going on. It just looked cool, all the people with their easels just painting away. It was a pretty long walk but it was a gorgeous day out.
we walked through a park that had a Fernando Bortero sculpture. Fernando was a Colombian sculptor that only sculpted fat people. It was cool to see but I was kind of sad that there was lots of graffiti on it.
As we walked, we saw tons of runners. There must have been a race going on near there but I never figured out where or how long of a race
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

people painting
it was. They were everywhere and it made me want to break into a jog. Our next stop was "floralis generica". Floralis Generica is a big metal solar flower that opens and closes with the sun. It was pretty cool. Our next stop was the museum. We had to walk over a walking bridge to get there. It was a good view from the bridge.
We weren´t sure if we had to pay to get in the museum but it didn´t matter. I figure it will be awhile before I go back to BA. We didn´t have to pay but Alison, Hayley, and Catie weren´t happy because they had to check their bags because they were backpack style but I didn´t because I just had my purse which goes on my arm. I´m sure they are just worried about people knocking stuff over with a backpack. I enjoyed the museum. I don´t go really slow through but I just like to see it all and if something catches my eye then I stop and look at it for awhile. Our shadows would set off the sensor that plays a message that tells you not to stand so close. It got
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Front of the Fernando Bortero sculpture
annoying after awhile. We saw lots of famous painters art like Vincent Van Gogh, Pablo Picasso and Rembrandt. We only went through the first floor but I still enjoyed it. Hayley really didn´t at all, she had no idea who any artists were and we couldn´t take pictures so she just tagged along. I saw a Hard Rock Cafe near the museum that I wanted to go to but we didn´t go.
When we left the museum we decieded to take a taxi to the Camioneta. We thought that was what the street with all the colored houses was called, which it is but apparently there is also a market called Camioneta. The driver took us there by mistake but we decided to stay and check it out. I accidentally dropped 50 pesos in the cab ($12) and I could not find it for the life of me. It wasn´t too much money so I tried not to worry about it. At the market I bought coconut earings, 3 bracelets and a cup. I like them all. When we were done shopping there we took a taxi to the Camioneta in the Boca, where we wanted to go originally.
The
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

backside of the sculpture
Boca was bustling like usual. We walked around looking in all the shops but we were starting to get tired and hungry. I bought a soccer jersey for 25 pesos ($6). I got a good deal because the lady didn´t have anymore in my size so she had to give me the display one and it was a little dirty from people looking at it and touching it. We were ready to get our of there and we were hungry so we took a taxi to one of the places we had gotten coupons for from our travel agent. The restaurant was called Spell Cafe.
The cafe was in the nice neighborhood that the travel agent said was a really safe place to spend time. We asked about our coupon but it turned out the agency made a mistake and all the coupons were marked to begina and expire on the first day we arrived so we couldn´t use them. We were so hungry and worn out we didn´t care. Catie, Alison and I ordered chocolate milk shakes. I wasn´t even sure what I ordered but I just picked something that sounded good because I didn´t want to order and
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

the floralis generica from far away
cheeseburger and fries or something boring. Our food finally came. I got a piece of chicken with a sauce on it and a piece of a carrot/egg loaf thing. It was really good but I got a little sick of the carrot taste after awhile.
When we were finished eating we started walking back in the direction of our hotel. We spent some time looking at the boats and brown water. We made our way back to the pink house and cathedral. Hayley and I went back in the cathedral to get a better look at things without being rushed and Catie and Alison waited outside. It turned out that the tomb was Jose San Martin, a really famous Argentinian general. It was getting to be a long day but we just kept walking. While we were on our tour the day before we had seen signs for a Celebrate Chile festival that was supposed to Saturday. We wanted to go but we didn´t know where it was. We ended up just walking up to it on accident on the way home. There was a stage with a singer and lots of stands with traditional Chilean foods and crafts. At
Photo 7Photo 7Photo 7

see me next to it?
some point we stopped at McDonald´s because we wanted ice cream. I got a Cadbury Blizzard. It was amazing.
We kept moving towards our hotel. Shopping at the little street stands along the way. I bought red and black scarf for 10 pesos ($2.50). We finally made it back to the hotel for a little downtime. We were planning on going to the pub crawl and that didn´t start until 10. I tried to get the internet to work on Hayley´s computer but I couldn´t get it to work. We all showered and got ready for a night out. We took a taxi to the bar where we started the pub crawl. It was called Nacional. The Pub Crawl cost 40 pesos ($10) which was a deal since it was study abroad night. We got free beer, pizza and wine at the first bar. We were the first ones to arrive but soon enough others started coming. We met two girls who go to school in Missouri that are studying in Santiago. One of them was from WI. I hope we get to visit them in Santiago some day, that would be fun. There were people from all over mostly
Photo 8Photo 8Photo 8

the bridge
speaking English. We went to 3 bars and then ended a discotheque called "Crowbar". We had a lot of fun. We took a taxi back to the hotel around 7 a.m. Hayley decided she wanted breakfast, which began at 7 and we discovered that we could have it brought up to our room for free. We called down and got hot chocolate and bread. It was delicious. We went to bed at 8 a.m.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

nice view
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

museum
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

my food the spell cafe
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

spell cafe
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

bridge and brown water
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

boats and brown water
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

pink house
Photo 21Photo 21
Photo 21

Celebrate Chile
Photo 23Photo 23
Photo 23

singer
Photo 24Photo 24
Photo 24

ready for some fun
Photo 25Photo 25
Photo 25

bored, waiting with the giant fanta.
Photo 26Photo 26
Photo 26

our door


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb