Day of rest, the Infirmary is busy


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Atlantic
November 7th 2008
Published: November 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today is a day at sea. Ken has caught the scratchy throat, congestion that is going around. I go to the infirmary to get him some cold medicine. I hope I don't get it. I use Clorox wipes to wipe everything down. We have a small breakfast with Larry and Henna and return to the room. I think we will read, sleep, watch movies, room service today. Not so bad of a day, right?

Friday, November 7th continued...as the day wore on, I started feeling icky..scratchy throat, congestion. Ken suggested I go down to the infirmary to get some more Theraflu. I open the door and there are about 10 crew members waiting to see the nurse or doctor. I see my masseuse, Caity: not a good sign for me! I don't have to wait because I am just purchasing some medication. The nurse tells me the sickness is rampant on the ship. Everyone in our group has had some degree/form of it except Henna and Annie. I pray they don't get it. Since we are both feeling bad, we nap most of the day. It was a perfect day for it as it is very, very windy, cloudy and drizzly. We have a balcony room and we can hear the wind whistling through the door and window. As I drift in and out of sleep, the boat rocks me gently. These are pretty big waves. I find it very relaxing. I love that part of sleep when you first begin to wake up, but part of you is still in your dream and the outside world has not yet become real. It's such a reward to let yourself go back to sleep; no agenda for the day; no outside interruptions. We are 1340 miles from Portugal, halfway to St Maarten, with another 1200 miles to go. Many of our group has said they can't wait to see land. I am totally content not seeing land! I don't want to see it for a long time. I love this!
We decided to shower and go to dinner. We have not seen anyone since breakfast. We didn't eat much but it was good to see our friends.
Everyone was going to the show, but we went to our room and watched 'Gladiator', one of my favorites.

Mary Strzalka~~you asked me to tell more about the dinner social hour. It's just fun to meet up with everyone after we have been doing our own thing during the day. Unfortunately, Jack and Minnie and Janice and Richard are not in our dining room and when Minnie tried to switch it, she couldn't. Sometimes we all have happy hour together which is fun. But not the last couple of days.
Sometimes not feeling good forces you to totally relax; it can be beneficial. I told everyone about your party. You'll have to remind us when we get home.

Rich and Lori~ can't wait to see you on the 24th

Josette and Gary~ love hearing from you!!

Jan~ I think about you everyday when I look at the vegetarian dinner AND during this sickness going around. You would be just like me, wiping everything down. Unfortunately, it did no good. Great hearing from you. I don't want to ask how work is-not ready to think about it yet. 😊

Joyce~ good to hear from you.

Hi Dina-hope all is well with you!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb