Arrival in New Zealand


Advertisement
Oceania
February 6th 2012
Published: February 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

calories galorecalories galorecalories galore

made and ready for consumption
Having had a few days of light training and recovery in Los Angeles its been all go ever since. We had a 13 hour flight from LA to Aukland, drama through customs having to declare all the watersports equipment for the Kayaking and my runners, bike, basically all my kit had to be declared and not forgetting my Jacob's Fig Roll bars for D Day and my Flavaghans Porridge oat flakes. I need my porridge after all. So we got through, all the gear allowed and flew to Christchurch.

I know in the current age of instantaneous multimedia news reporting that natural disasters such as the Christchurch earthquakes are so well covered that one might assume that they understand the issues that might arise but I know my perception was so far off the mark. Niamh and I were in New Zealand 3 years ago and when we compare the city now it bears no resemblance. It is quite simply a ghost town, derilict buildings right through the heart of the city, others too numerous to count awaiting demolishing. The city has had to spread out leaving nothing at its core.

My training has tapered off as the race
southern alps southern alps southern alps

the southern als from above
is a mere 5 days away and later today we collect the racing kayak and head across the island. Thankfully all my kit has remained intact and apart from some sunburn that I got on my head and neck the body seems to be ok.

Campervan as a home for the coming days (no Winnabago for us its a simple hiace) we've stocked up on all the healthy essentials required to get me to the start line, my energy bars are made up, kit check lists checked and after reccis of the course over the next 2 days then its all systems go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

shut downshut down
shut down

the heart of Christchurch is closed off
who;s nextwho;s next
who;s next

buildings lysting dangerously await the demolition crews
container citycontainer city
container city

the retailers have constructed a city of shops from 40 foot containers,
safesafe
safe

the bike arrived safe and sound just took 1.5 hours to make sure it was assembled correctly
sweet treatsweet treat
sweet treat

I've been off the deamon chocolate since the 1st of Jan, the chocolate over here is shocking so I had to bring it with me. So reckon the thought of the Cadbury's alone will get me through the race


Tot: 2.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb