G'day from Northern Queensland


Advertisement
Oceania
March 7th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

G'day everyone,

Well, I only have ten minutes to blog today. I am finishing up my time in Far North Queensland. We had 3 days of rain (about 500 mL total). Never saw anything like it. We were stranded at the resort due to flooded roads and mudslides.

But I get ahead of myself. Mardi Gras was fun. I was a little disappointed because everyone stood on milk crates (or empty kegs) virtually blocking the view if you weren't up front. Despite that, I met some new mates. Dean from Melbourne and Kareen (sp?) from Sydney. I took some pictures - but I never put my memory card back in. They are on the camera still, but I have to figure out how to transfer them to the computer. (So no new pictures today).

The final day in Sydeny I hung out with Dean during the day and then went to see Cindy Lauper in the evening, which I think I told you about on Sunday.

Then I left Sydeny and flew three hours north to Cairns (pronounced like cannes - or what it sounds like to me). Shortly after landing, the rains came! It rained for three days straight! Not light rain, this was monsoon weather! Luckily the last couple of days have cleared up and I got to go snorkeling and some other trips. Unfortunately, I am using the resort computer and I can not upload pictures from here. I was also unable to use the internet for the past couple of days due to the weather interfering with the satellite.

Well, my time is up for today. I will post pictures and tell you about the time in the tropics on Saturday. Hope all is well at home!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb