Pictures from the tropics


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
March 8th 2008
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Barrow FallsBarrow FallsBarrow Falls

This is the "Niagra" of North Queensland. With the amount of rain we got, the river was overflowing. I have video of this. I'll see if I can post it. It is quite impressive.
G'day mates!

Well, I made it to Melbourne yesterday. Only have one full day here, but I will try to get some pictures around today and post them. I am finally getting a chance to post pictures from the previous week. The week started with lots of rain (around a half of a meter - or around 20 inches - from Monday through Wednesday). Our snorkeling trip was fun, but because of the rain, the water wasn't the clear crystal blue water I thought it would be. Either way, when I get home and develop the film from the underwater camera you'll get to see the Great Barrier Reef up close.

Wednesday, our daytrip to Daintree Rainforest was postponed till Thursday, so I hung around the resort and got to know a lot of the other guests at the resort while stranded there. Thursday the Daintree Park was closed due to flooding, so the tour guides took seven of us on a different trip. We headed to Kuranda and Barrow Falls. The Falls were massive with the amount of rain that we just received. Then we headed to Jacques Coffee Plantation for some great coffee. Then headed to see
Frank at the FallsFrank at the FallsFrank at the Falls

This is me at the Falls :-).
a 1000 year old fig tree and lunch at a dairy farm. We also stopped by a Peanut Farm and ended with another magnificent view of the falls.

Friday I went to the croc farm. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to have crocodile meat before I left (but I did try Kangaroo meat. It was pretty good). I left my camera at home (sorry, it was a last minute decision), so you will all just have to come down to Australia to see these interesting creatures. Friday evening was our final party and it was great to spend a few more hours with everyone before we all went our separate ways on Saturday.

Today's plan is to head to Philip's Island after morning tea in St. Kilda. Only 24 hours left before I step back on the plan for the 24 hour trip home! I can't believe it has gone so fast. Well, enjoy the pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Mudslide!Mudslide!
Mudslide!

This mudslide closed the small tourist train that goes to the Falls.
1000 years old!1000 years old!
1000 years old!

This Fig tree is over 1000 years old!
Group with the tree.Group with the tree.
Group with the tree.

This was a group of us from the resort that went on the trip. From left to right it is Jim (one of the tour guides), me, Mark from Melbourne, Tania and Sarah from Sydney, Glen from Sydney, the other tour guide and the fellow from Luxembourg - sorry forgot his name. Sean from Canada took the picture.
New Mates!New Mates!
New Mates!

This picture is up at one of the Falls. From left to right is Glen (Sydney), Sean (Regina - Canada) and Tania (Sydney).
Frank and TaniaFrank and Tania
Frank and Tania

Up at the Falls
Back at the ResortBack at the Resort
Back at the Resort

This is a picture of Karen, me and Monica. Karen and Monica are from Zurich, Switzerland and have been together for 9 years! They are the best!
Back at the ResortBack at the Resort
Back at the Resort

Monica (Zurich), Me and Patty (New Zealand).


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb