Up up and away!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
May 13th 2006
Published: May 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

There was me thinking it was going to be another boring weekend at work when the phone rang and i was invited to go on a helicopter ride! My sweet talking to Steve, said helicopter pilot, the previous week paid off and with a spare space in his heli he invited me up. My lovely boss allowed me to run away from the cleaning and i was on my way.

I was so excited to go in a helicopter, never having been in one before and i was not disappointed. One of the things that surprised me most was how tiny it was, just enough room for us three passengers and Pilot Steve. I spent the whole journey, in fact the whole day, grinning like a child as you can see from the photos! We flew west up to the mountains then followed the line of the Remarkables before nipping over the top and landing on a improbably small ridge to get out and have a look around. The views were amazing, it bucketed it down with snow two days ago which made the mountains look even more impressive, as if they needed any help. Yet again superbly lucky with
Me and my helicopter!Me and my helicopter!Me and my helicopter!

ok so it's not 'mine' but a girl can dream
the weather we could see over to Mount Aspiring (where I did the boating around last week) and even right across to Mount Cook a hundred plus miles away.

And finally after being so excited about snow i got to touch some! Woohoo! Sunk my feet and hands into the beautiful stuff. Totally under dressed for the occasion Pilot Steve offered to get me back in the helicopter, no way i said as i stuck my freezing hands in the snow again. Such a kid!

Eventually climbed back in for the ride back, swinging over Queenstown on the way, then a smooth landing back at the airfield. Back in the van and back to the hotel to get straight back to the cleaning!

Am still blown away by how fantastic the views were, as always the photos can only capture so much. Still havent stopped smiling..... Claire xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Mount Cook over in the distanceMount Cook over in the distance
Mount Cook over in the distance

A clearer view than when i drove right past it on the van road trip!


13th May 2006

Knockers Open Doors
Sorry freebie heenan - very crass i know, jealousy is a terrible trait. glad you got to see some snow though. any helly pilots wanting to treat me please get in touch. boo to liqour king and no cool free stuff.
20th May 2006

snow!
wow, glad u got ur mits on some snow at last, way more impressive than the flurry we had here soo many months ago now. the views and the fact u were in a helicopter very impressive, have to copy marc an say am very jealous! keep up the fantastic stories and pics xx

Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb