My Favorite Things (song)


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
December 12th 2010
Published: December 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My Favorite Things (New Zealand Style)

(as in "My Favorite Things" from The Sound of Music)

*to be sung with much enthusiasm and gusto!

Marmite on crackers
and band aides on blisters
sunshine while hiking
and swimming with flippers
warm cozy hostels
and steaming hot springs
these are a few of my favorite things

driving ‘round mountains
all frosted with snow caps
pockets of postcards and coupons and roadmaps
leaping from zip-lines while wishing for wings
these are a few of my favorite things

when my cash drops
when the price stings
when I’m getting stressed
I simply remember my favorite things
and that’s when I feel so blessed!

hot cups of Milo
and jandels for two bucks
sheered sheep and collies
are passing by farm trucks

picnics on beaches
togs dry in the breeze
can I please move here?
oh please, pretty please?!

...

If you don’t yet speak fluent Kiwi, here’s a key.

Marmite: A salty yeast spread to put on crackers, bread, ect. that is very popular in New Zealand, Australia, and England but the vast majority of American camp counselors who try it think it’s awful. Norwegians like it though. We like salty things!

Milo: A malt chocolate powder to be mixed with hot or cold milk to make either hot chocolate or chocolate milk.

Jandals: Flip-flops.

Togs: A swimsuit.



Advertisement



12th December 2010

Thanks
I so enjoy your blog. Bobbie www.pihabeach.co.nz
12th December 2010

yay
this song if FABULOUS....I just sang it to the family...and I appreciated the definitions of the words I didn't know!! LOL LOL

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1015.7kb