Final installment of NZ


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
April 24th 2010
Published: April 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so after Wanaka we moved on to Queenstown. On our journey there we stopped at puzzling world, which has the worlds first 3D maze and to be honest we found it pretty hard, and on arrival at Kawarau gorge, a few of my friends did the original bungy jump from the Kawarau bridge over the river, we were also shown a quick film of how it all started and where they tested the rope before it became commercial. When we arrived into Queenstown we got a group photo taken, sunbathed on the beach at Lake Wakatipu with the Remarkables in the background before a couple of early drinks at the Irish pub and then we went out, again! Queenstown is renowned for its nightlife and it lived up to expectations! The next day we finally had a lie-in, then had a picnic while enjoying a free concert on the village green before chilling out at the lake with friends that had just arrived and went out again!

The next day we were up early and off on a bus again!!! This time to Milford sound where I had been really looking forward to visiting. It was a long day, spent mainly in the bus but it was worth it. The scenery was amazing, the valley was carved out by glaciers which actually makes it a fiord not a sound. We saw stunning waterfalls and had a boat cruise, where we got a buffet lunch, admired the scenery and saw dolphins! Also we had a quick visit to the underwater observatory where we were told about black coral, which is actually white! That night we moved to Nomads hostel instead of base which was much nicer. It was John and Tracey's last night, we grabbed burgers from the world famous Fergburger and a then had a few drinks in the Irish pub. Final day in Queenstown, we had another lovely lie-in, then me and Jen had a little shopping trip which was nice, followed by more relaxing at the lake, a free BBQ at world bar and a final night out with everyone.

The next day I had to get up early to leave, it was really sad to be saying bye to Jen, Bonnie and the 3 Irish (most of my good friends) but Mike and Matt and the 4 blond boys continued to Christchurch with me, as well as Natalie and Mark but they flew that evening and Mike and Matt left early the next morning. Along the way we stopped off for lunch at a lake with a fantastic view of Mount Cook and at another lake with a gorgeous little church on the edge. We stayed at base again and had a relaxing evening watching TV but the people in my room kept me awake coming in and out lots which meant a lack of sleep. The next day I set off on a walking tour of the city along the river to the botanical gardens, back in Cathedral Sq I saw the blond boys and said bye to Jimmy and Bread(2 of the blonds), then I had a nap before returning to the botanical gardens for a good look around. On my way back I went to Evensong at the Cathedral which was nice, then made dinner with Beacon, watched TV with him and JP and then said bye to Beacon.

The next morning I set off for Kaikoura, and only knew JP but soon made new friends. Kaikoura was a lovely quiet beach town, I spent most of the afternoon on the beach then that evening, we ate and had a few drinks at the hostel, top spot backpackers. JP had been fishing with some of the others and they had caught lots of fish which they cooked on the BBQ and shared with everyone. Including Crayfish which Kaikoura is famous for! The next day I spent the morning at the beach again, said bye to JP who was heading back south and then went whale watching where I met Jen and Bonnie. I had decided to stay an extra night so I could see them but they hadn't got my message so it was a good surprise for them! We saw lots of sperm whales, it was amazing, as soon as one dived there was another one for us to see. We saw 6 whales in total and some of them hung around on the surface for a long time. Often people only see 1 or 2 so we were very lucky! They are so huge! Paul was also in Kaikoura and had gone fishing so I went home, got ready and then met Jen, Bonnie and Paul at their hostel for another BBQ. Then we walked back into town and met people at the pub quiz, which was very hard, despite making friends with some Kiwi's! Then we had to say bye again!

The next day I got the bus to Picton and the ferry to Wellington. On the ferry it was really hot so in the end we went inside and started watching the 7s rugby tournament which had started in Wellington. 7s is the biggest party in the NZ calender and everyone, and I mean everyone, goes in the most amazing fancy dress! I was back at base again for a final time and I shared a room with Sophie, Josefine, Harry and Fraser who became my Wellington friends. The boys were English and the girls Dutch! I cooked with the girls, then we all played some drinking games before heading into town which was so so busy because of the rugby!

Waitangi Day - Celebration of the Maori people signing NZ over for protection by the queen. I went to Te Papa museum which was a really good museum, then I met the girls and Kobi(from Israel), we bumped into Dustin, the Canadian we had met in Taupo, then we all had a picnic lunch listening to a celebration concert in Waitangi Park before getting the local bus out to the velodrome to the One Love concert in honour of Bob Marley's birthday which was pretty fun and it was a lovely hot sunny day. After the 7s finished there were fireworks and a big street party which we got involved in.

The next day it was an early bus to Taupo stopping at Bulls and Huka falls which I had already seen on the way down, when we arrived I went to down to Lake Taupo and relaxed on the beach before cheap chill at the Urban Retreat hostel and a relatively early night. The next morning we set of for Auckland, again stopping at places I'd seen on the way south but those travelling north hadn't experienced yet, I got the bus from the city centre out to met Ben who picked me up and took me back to Mike and Nicky's where I saw Granny which was lovely. We had a quiet evening and I told them all about my travels.

The next day I caught up on some more sleep and then happened to speak to a school friend who I thought was in Sydney but who was actually in Auckland so I went into the city and met Alex(Chopper) for lunch. We met at the Skytower and then walked to up to the domain where we had ice-cream. We just spent most of the day catching up about our travels which was lovely. Then Chop went home to get changed and I went and met friends from the bus, Allen and Bella, got changed at their hostel and went out for dinner with them at the viaduct which was gorgeous on the waterfront with all the boats. Chopper met us there and then we headed into town to a few more bars. Ben picked me up on his way home from a friends party and the next morning I got the bus back into the city, I met Allen and we went to the airport together as we were flying at the same time but to different places. It was great to see Mike, Nicky, Ben, David and Granny and I had so much fun in NZ!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

The long white cloudThe long white cloud
The long white cloud

If you didn't know NZ is known as the land of the long white cloud


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb