March 1


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
March 1st 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

February 29th er ah, March 1st.
As rainy and nasty as yesterday was, I woke to a clear blue sky. A little befuddled, I decided to get out of here and sort things out. My destination for today is Murchison, only a few hours toward the west coast. In to Mouteka I found a Sunday farmers market. This one was more like our city market with veggies, honey, various crafts and misc. objects d'art along with food stands. After wandering around a while I went to the main street and found the Red Cup Café. Crowded and full of energy I was induced to have breakfast for a change. Eggs, tomato, round (Canadian bacon , Avner) toast with something. I wasn’t sure if it was just smashed raspberries or what. Full, I found a petrol station (picking up the language seems second nature) filled the van and headed down the highway. The first half of the trip followed the Wa River Valley. Lush and filled with orchards of apples, cherries, pears, hops and a short bush I didn’t recognize, not blueberries or raspberries. It struck me that I, along with most, tend to try to identify a place by comparing it
Fine carFine carFine car

I saw 100's of old cars like this in great working order
to somewhere we have been or at least imagined. I have done that with this NZ. Realizing that, I have to tell you that New Zealand is 100% New Zealand. It is not, like, as the kids like say, like, any other like place on earth, period! I had planned to stop at a popular swinging bridge enroute but unlike most things it was not marked, or I just missed the sign. Into Murchison, afternoon coffee and a brownie (cut in a wedge like a piece of cake and 2 times as thick). As I finish up a busload of tourists (those scabs) pulls up so I am out the door. Across the street I see an unassuming small meat market with “New Zealand 2008 National Bacon Contest Winner” on the window. Good on you, as the Kiwis say. Back at camp, it is now raining, I do my second load of laundry and watch the end of a kayak competition held in the adjacent river. The day ends in a misty/foggy haze. The camp restaurant doesn't look appealing so I go back into town. Cod with veggies, home to bed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

GoodiesGoodies
Goodies

Displays like this are the reason I didn't loose any weight on the trip.
Butcher ShopButcher Shop
Butcher Shop

And the winner is...


Tot: 0.725s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb