Beginning three days on the west coast.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Greymouth
March 5th 2009
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Buler Gorge bridgeBuler Gorge bridgeBuler Gorge bridge

Turned out I would soon see more than enough swinging bridges for free.
Monday March 2nd
Very light mist, booo. Breakfast of plumbs I bought in Takaka and coffee. Yes I am making my own coffee on occasion. Heading out for the coast I read my itinerary and discover that the swinging bridge I thought I missed is actually only a short distance down the road. I stop to check it out, but really, would you pay to go out on a swinging bridge over a river gorge in the pouring rain? Parts of the Buler River gorge are breathtaking, especially if you’re driving too fast, only kidding. I have gotten the windy road thing down, learning how to estimate speeds on those nasty hairpin turns. On the overall subject of speed thought I must admit Father I have sinned. Contrary to the comment I made early on about not wanting to go over 60kph I have quickly learned that the road sign “drive to conditions” is interpreted by Kiwi drivers to mean they can exceed the speed limit on long flat stretches. When in Rome, I always say. Out of the forest and on to the coast. Another wow moment. I don’t know what it is about sighting the ocean that gives me
The Tasman SeaThe Tasman SeaThe Tasman Sea

first sea siting on the west coast
such a rush, but it never seems to change. This time it’s the Tasman Sea. South down the shore to Punakaiki. Just a few klm before is the Truman Walk. Please get out of your car and do this one. It starts in what appears to be a tropical forest and ends at a small cove on the shore. If you won’t do this 15 min walk you might as well just drive on in to Graymouth and call it a day. Punakaiki Rocks is a National Park and well worth the stop. A paved path leads you out to the sea and the rocks. For some reason I thought this area was a wind swept raw landscape but it is anything but that. Still very subtropical, the rocks are covered with vegetation. Look at the photos. Did I mention the sun came out an hour ago? Just before Graymouth I turn left for Blackball and a little bit of NZ history. It is now a tiny town that was once a booming mining community. The Blackball Hilton is the principle structure in town and under new management since August I believe. Not wanting to drink and drive I had
Another fernAnother fernAnother fern

I know all my devoted nature photo fans were waiting for this
a long black and a salami sandwich for lunch. Chris, the new owner filled me in on local happenings and pointed me toward the Blackball Salami Store. I bought some garlic venison salami and was on my way. Less than an hours drive to Hokitika, I arrived in time to walk the town and go by the Jade Factory. I had sent them my ring to have a new piece of greenstone set in it and will pick it up in the morning along with a number of selections in Pounamu and bone. Don’t feel like dinner out so I hit the local grocery and back to the Shining Star Holiday Park for a snack and catch up on this journal. This, by the way is one of the nicest places I have stayed in to date. It is right on the beach. Good walk before turning in.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Truman IIITruman III
Truman III

Bottom of a waterfall on the beach
Blackball GraveyardBlackball Graveyard
Blackball Graveyard

Where residents went when they were blackballed (you know I had to take this shot)


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb