On route to Vanuatu!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
September 20th 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! My Vanuatu adventure is almost underway. I just spent 2 days in orientation in LA getting to know the other volunteers (there's 21 of us going) and preparing for what we can expect once we arrive. The other volunteers are from all over the US and we will all be participating in some sort of education program as our assignment.

I am in the airport in New Zealand now with a 5 hour layover before departing on Air Vanuatu. The 12 hour flight from Los Angeles went by a lot quicker than I thought, I slept a lot and there was a great movie, TV, and game selection to pass the time, I think I watched about 4 movies haha.

I am really excited to finally arrive in Vanuatu and experience all the amazing things I've read and heard about Once we arrive,we will be greeted by some of the Peace Corps country staff in the airport and will stay in a hotel in the capital, Port Vila, for more orientation, vaccinations, health and safety training, etc. After that we will head to our homestay for about one month where we will live while we attend training during the day. We complete training and become officially sworn in as volunteers (if all goes well) in early December when we will start our assignments.
That's it for now. I will write more when I arrive in Vanuatu!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb