bye bye winter!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
October 7th 2008
Published: October 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

racers edge girlsracers edge girlsracers edge girls

at my bday party!
Winter has just flown by! I can't believe it!

September kicked off with my birthday weekend! Another friend and I with the same birthday had a joint barbeque and party (theme: Venison & Veggies). All the food that was made was amazing and we all had a blast. On my actual birthday I managed to convince Neil and his flatmate Ray to go skiing with me....on an ice day. TC hadn't gotten snow in a while, so we were skiing on...sheeeeer ice. We got 4 hilarious runs in though and I was happy because I can I say I've skiied on my birthday! After a picnic at Glendu Bay we headed back and relaxed. It was a big weekend!

Winter kept going with the Base Party, the Black Seeds concert, more parties, more birthdays, and then a "forced holiday" to Australia! I went to Melbourne to visit a friend for 4 days. The first two days we headed to Torquay and went surfing! The water was cold and I only had a shorty, but it was still so fun. As it was my second time surfing, I did not really do well, but I at least stood up on the second day (and quickly fell again). We also saw a Wearable Arts show in Torquay which was...interesting. (It's when people design outfits out of anything but fabrics...so egg cartons, seaweed, etc). Back to Melbourne we went-- I explored the St Kilda area, battled some ferocious gale force winds, saw the centre city, and even drove outside Melbourne to a park to see some kangaroos!!! Very cool. Australia was great, but I missed Wanaka and New Zealand so much. My heart skipped a beat when I flew back over the Southern Alps.

TC got some more snow the week I got back. We did a few hikes up to the Summit and out of the Chutes(very tiring!) and found the good, fresh pow pow. As the season wound down, people started to leave. 😞 The weather began to change and I even went wakeboarding one day! It was my second time, but I loved it! I managed to get up on my second try and crossed the wake a few times.

A week from last Sunday was closing day at TC (sad!) but we had the most amazing, perfect, incredibly fun day. We headed up to sunshine and
me & kerryme & kerryme & kerry

still my bday...
soft snow. Live music, beers, food, and good company was the perfect day. But to top it off, it was Retro Day! So everyone dug out their old ski clothes from the 70s 80s and 90s. Bright florescent colours, one piece suits, hot pink lipstick, and straight skis were out on the slopes!! I absolutely loved my straight skis and had just an awesome day in them and with everyone. You could even spot a mono ski on the mountain!

Racers Edge closed shop for a day and took the staff out on a house boat last week to say thanks! It was a great way to end winter-- a "booze cruise". We cruised around the lake, trailing jet boats behind us. When we were far enough out, we hopped on the jet boats and cruised around the Matukituki River. Then we went back to the house boat and got out the water skis, wakeboards, and biscuits (tubes essentially). SO fun. We had three biscuits and fit four people on them and were holding on for dear life as Charlie was purposely going extremely fast and trying to knock us off. Ridiculous.

Summer came for three days-- we
neil & rayneil & rayneil & ray

on the lift at tc on my bday
had amazing weather that everyone was enjoying. We went for a bike ride in Sticky Forest and then had a picnic down by the lake, went for a swim, soaked up the sun, etc. Now it's back to being windy and grey...oh well!

So Sunday is my last day of work and I have about one week left in Wanaka and I am absolutely gutted to leave, but I know I can always come back. 😊 Neil and I head to the North Island to travel around for a few weeks, and then I fly out of Wellington on November 15th for Cairns to start a 6 months journey around Australia. I am definitely looking forward to a new adventure, but it's always hard leaving a place you've grown to love.

Hope everyone is well. xx

Next entry....North Island, NZ.




Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

on the summiton the summit
on the summit

the hike up
wearable artswearable arts
wearable arts

seaweed....and?
bells beach!bells beach!
bells beach!

where's keanu?
kangaroo!kangaroo!
kangaroo!

vaguely in the distance
closing dayclosing day
closing day

pond skim!


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb