jumping off bridges


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
June 12th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

on the ledge!on the ledge!on the ledge!

picture of a picture
What is the point of living in New Zealand, especially an hour from Queenstown--adventure capital of the world-- if not to voluntarily jump off a bridge?? Thanks to my lovely brothers, their girlfriends, and my best friend, I received the amazing Christmas present of throwing myself off a bridge...hhmm...am I missing something here?? Well, it took me long enough, but a month ago I did it! I jumped off Kawarau Bridge the first site ever of bungy jumping! It's 43 meters and over a river. One of the stipulations was that I had to hit the water, so I did!The whole thing was pretty nuts. The free-falling sensation was awesome--really scary--but awesome. I would definitely do it again. Maybe Nevis next time?? 😉 It's the highest in NZ, and I think third in the world. 134m high, 8.5 seconds free fall! Just a thought...so these pics are pictures of ones I bought. I tried to scan them but the program didn't read so you'll just have to deal with fuzzy pictures.

We got a little kitty in my flat too! After much debate and arguing over the name (suggestions such as Ninja, Thunder, Black and White Thunder, Harold, Hector, B, Kitty, Ziggy, etc) it is officially named Harold (GROAN!). But my flatmate who bought it I guess has the right to name it 😉 I just call it Kitty. That's what it answers to anyways since we called it Kitty for three weeks while we were deciding on names!

A few weeks ago a couple friends and I headed to Mt Cook- highest mountain in NZ! It is about a 2.5 hr drive from Wanaka-- not bad at all! The drive there and back was surrounded by intense, really eerie fog. But as soon as we got into the park, the fog just stopped and it was a beautiful blue sky day. We were really lucky with weather. The sun doesn't fully hit the village until about 11am maybe so there were still a lot of frosty bits. We took a nice easy walk up the Hooker Valley (about 3hrs return) where we got some stunning views of Mt Cook. Then we did a walk to the Tasman Glacier and Lake which was really beautiful too. All in all it was a great day. Couldn't have asked for a better view!

We are officially a ski shop at Racers Edge now! The bikes have moved out and boots, bindings, skis, etc are in! We held a "fashion show" for our loyal winter customers. It was such good fun! There were 3 male and 3 female models--mostly staff-- who walked the catwalk in our latest winter fashion. I helped dress them and made sure they were in the right outfits on time. It was pretty manic actually, especially with a bottle of Jager helping us out in the back. But when seeing the video, it looked really smooth and orderly!

We closed shop for two days this week for staff training. The winter crew is really great- lots of fun people. The ski fields near Wanaka open up at the end of June so we are going to get really busy really fast. We went over everything in the shop and then on the afternoon of the second day when our brains really couldn't take much more info, they took us out to Hawea to the Rowley's high country merino station. This is where they have tens of thousands of sheep, and they use about 80% of their wool to supply to icebreaker. We got to watch them shear the sheep! Really a hard, tiring, and smelly job! Then we grabbed some beers, drove out to the lake and shot some clay pigeons! I only got one-- probably a good thing that shooting is not my forte. After our activity filled afternoon we all met up for dinner and then later went out for drinks. It's gonna be a fun winter!

Hope you're not all melting state-side. Heard it's been hot!
<3


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



12th June 2008

Kitty...
You should have named him 'Ninja'!!! Or 'Poopies 2'....that would be cool too!
16th July 2008

Loser, it's July 16th, where's your next blog???
Title says it all

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb