Queenstown and Canyoning


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
March 9th 2011
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So we're back in Queenstown. yeah it kind of sucks you in this place, but it is all good. One thing that I really wanted to try but would never have had the time to do had we gone on to Invercargill was to do the canyoning.

This was a great activity, while Toby did the big Ben Nevis bungee (yeah the BIG one). I went off on my own to do the canyoning. We were taken by bus up out of Queenstown to the canyon site, put on our wet suits and life jackets and helmets and cracked straight on to it.

Our guides Harry and Faye were pretty spot on. Both English people, they came from Essex, they were very well drille din safety and everything that we had to do. Something that I am seeing a lot more of is that the majority of people who run these tours or activities are not usually from new Zealand, they are usually European or from the UK. Even in the bars there are a lot of people from the UK working.

Once we got into the very cold water, even colder than the river surfing the other day, we climbed our way up to our first zip line. I have never been on one of these before, and at first it was quite daunting, but once you were on and you got going it was cool no worries. There were about 3 of these in all, each getting faster and higher than the last.

Next up was a spot of sliding. The way this happens is that you tuck your arms in, cross your legs and then our guide points/lowers you into the right position and then lets you go down. The first time, was down a 15 foot waterfall. Pretty sweet.

Next up was some abseiling or repelling. Something that I have never done before. As you can see from the photo, I was a bit nervous at the start but as soon as I got the hang of it I flew down with ease, loving it.

After that, there was a bit of climbing over rocks and getting through some tights gaps to then get on another kind of half zip line half abseil, however the rope at the bottom ran out and I fell to the water. This was all planned though, but it came as a bit of a shock, especially as I had my mouth open and swalloed about a gallon of water !

All in all this was a great activity and something I would definitely do again 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



9th March 2011

love the pictures.
9th March 2011

Thanks
Thank you very much :)

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb