Sailing with the Postman...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
July 31st 2006
Published: August 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The exchange...The exchange...The exchange...

Wonder what's in the bag...
After my time in Abel Tasman Ian and I ventured north for a while, went to a wonderful remote beach that is only accessible by a long dirt track and then you have to walk a fair way over some hills. I am still in love with the black beaches that Danny took me to in West Auckland though...

Nelson was my home for a couple of nights whilst travelling back over to the east coast. The hostel had a piano that was in tune (yippee) which was great, trying to remember all the Ben Folds/Five songs that I used to know off by heart...yes I need alot more practice after being out of touch with those black and white keys for so long...can't wait to have my baby back when I get home...

We took the scenic drive from Nelson to Picton, again lots more twists and turns causing a little someone (Ian) to feel sick, having to stop to take a breather...

Finally back in Picton, my first town of the south island when I got off the Interislander Ferry. This time though I was there to see the Marlborough Sounds in more detail, by going on a mail run. For 4 hours I was cruising round the beautiful sounds on a sun shiny day, delivering mail with the postman. Most of the people that live out on the sounds have no road access, some have also chosen to be cut off from the phone and electricity lines. They exchange their mail only twice a week and for some people living alone it may even be the only time they can be reunited with fellow man. One bay that we went into for delivery we saw some bottlenosed dolphins jumping out of the water. How amazing would that be, to step outside your front door to see dolphins in your front garden, well front ocean more like!

Comparing living out on the sounds to an isolated life in the outback which I experienced to some extent a few months ago, I would definately opt for the outback life. Where you are literally so far away from anything it is hard to imagine unless you are actually there. You can't deny the beauty of living out on the Marlborough sounds but there is no way it can beat the feeling the Australian outback gives you...

Advertisement



5th August 2006

hey!
hi sis, im at darryl and annettes for his 30th so will call in week, do you remeber playing that computer game at my digs? xxxx
5th August 2006

haha
Beat you Nigel!
6th August 2006

first again !
How does he do it even before Ian who'swith you ???????
6th August 2006

Unlucky!!
Maybe next time!! Ha ha

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb