A magical journey...


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Adorable...Adorable...Adorable...

Once you get used to their stench it is wonderful to just watch and observe their movements...
My first full day in the south island was a truly special one. I explored Abel Tasman National Park, not by foot but by kayak. In the group there was only five of us, an Uncle and Nephew, some guy from dartford, me and the kayak guide. The kayaks were doubles so I paired off with Mr. Dartford. The day started by driving to one of the bays where we all boarded a water taxi with our kayaks and gear. The taxi took us a fair few bays north where we got out and then left again but this time in our kayaks. I sat in the front seat first of all, on the 'lookout for rocks'. It really didn't seem like we were in the sea at all, the water was just so calm. We paddled out to a little island to look at the cute little seals. They really do smell bad but you forget that in an instant when you just stop and admire their adorable beauty. One baby seal kept looking towards our kayak then would duck its head under the water, as if it was playing hide and seek or peek-a-boo...very very cute...

Seven kilometres
Doing the mohawk...Doing the mohawk...Doing the mohawk...

Even birds have their punks...
down the coast of Abel Tasman we pulled in on a deserted beach. It was so peaceful without another human soul in sight...a perfect place to enjoy our hot soup and cake. The guide told us that this trip, on this day, our day, was complete perfection. With the calmness of the waters, the weather being that of a summer's day but without the scores of people who kayak these waters in the summer season. Throughout the whole day we only saw one other kayak, which only drifted past in the distance whilst we were devouring our lunch.

The last 10kms we saw heaps of these mohawk birds that made the strangest noise. It was so deep and I was not expecting it at all! Alot of them would stand basking in the sun with their wings spread, drying them off. This time round I was in the back seat, in control of the rudder with my feet. We had lots of fun trying to chase the other two kayaks and knocking their rudders out of the water. It was funny until I was trying desperately to turn left but just seemed to keep going right, straight into the
My canoe with a view...My canoe with a view...My canoe with a view...

A great and different way to enjoy the national park...
guides kayak...

So perhaps winter is the best time to travel New Zealand afterall. Based upon the fact that I like the feeling of there not being many people around you, who are doing exactly the same things as you do as a traveller. The dorm rates are cheaper with alot more availiability and the car rates are heaps cheaper too. Plus there is snow right down south which I am very excited about! So yes everyone, I am really enjoying my time here exploring the stunning land of Aotearoa (the land of the long white cloud) and am starting to embrace the cold crisp bite in the air...soon with gloves and a wooly hat mind you...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Go Lucy go...Go Lucy go...
Go Lucy go...

Glide to the left, glide to the right...


29th July 2006

Stinky!
Once you got used to her stench, it was wonderful to just watch and observe her movements......said Nigelonius about her little sister... liking your activities PIB, looking forward to seeing you now, so come on enough is enough, come on home! Love u
29th July 2006

Uncle Colin
How beautiful it looks, yep I think its the best time for you to be there. Hey you did'nt tell me Colin had arrived? sitting in the front with his hat on........dont you agree?? more please its great to get up on a saturday morning to read this and look at the lovely photos. Love you, God Bless mum xxx
30th July 2006

Wow - Colin has a double from Dartford! x
30th July 2006

photos
your becoming a good lil photographer these days chuck!
30th July 2006

wow lucy, have just spent the last 30 mins catching up on your journals...you have been so brave and have not wasted a single minute there, I have so much i want to ask you about travelling and Im starting to wish that I too had taken a gap year! :-( Oh well america in 2 weeks, that will have to make do for now. Reading you journals inspires me so much into making sure I dont waste any time whilst travelling and making the most out of every opporutnity that comes up, no matter how scary!!! Take care my love, and I shall see you soon, layla xxx xxx

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb