Same country, different island...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
July 26th 2006
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Journey to the south island...Journey to the south island...Journey to the south island...

I loved the distinct colours going through the Marlborough Sounds...
Before crossing the Cook Strait to get to the south island I spent a few days in Wellington and staying in a little seaside town called Ruamati Beach. Wellington is actually the capital of New Zealand even though it feels alot smaller than Auckland. I think I prefer Wellington as a city compared to Auckland, although the surrounding areas of Auckland are much more beautiful. The city of Wellington is far more compact and has a better atmosphere to it where things are closer together. Went to the Te Papa museum which was fantastic. They had a Lord of the Rings exhibition on too which I loved, it's amazing to see all the techniques they used for filming and the software they created for the thousands in the battle scenes. I really want to watch them all again now!
We went to the cinema twice actually in the city. One film was called A Scanner Darkly and was part of the film festival happening over here...it was a quirky film, I liked it... plus it was screened at the massive Embassy Theatre which is beautiful after being done up for the premier of the third Lord of the Rings. Now the second cinema outing was special, and I really hope this catches on back home, or for all I know it may have even started! For $28 which is about 10 pounds, you get 'Gold' seats. You are further back and up from the 'rest' and have a table in between your seats where I placed my refreshing cocktail and unlimited popcorn...one hour through the film, as requested, our chocolate cake and icecream was served to us...man, cinematic luxury, it was perfect...

The ferry crossing to the South Island was early in the morning, had to be there by about 7:15am. The crossing took approximately three hours, with the middle hour being quite rough. Fortunately I was asleep for this section and woke up in good time to embrace the gorgeous views of the fresh land approaching us...the weather was on my side too with clear blue skies welcoming me to the south island of Aotearoa...

Advertisement



27th July 2006

The Flix is re opening!
At the flix they dont have Gold seats, just golden showers....the toilets are broke and there is a hole in the ceiling! xxxxxx PIB
27th July 2006

As if !!!
Now dont be silly we dont even have a cinema !! Hey welcome to the real world !!! soon.............make the most of it!!! mumxx

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb