Flying foxes and broken post boxes...


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A moment of terror...A moment of terror...A moment of terror...

It was so scary looking down and not knowing exactly what was going to happen other than them releasing you...
I can't believe I will be leaving for the south island of New Zealand soon, time has gone so fast yet I am so glad that I've done everything I wanted to...oh, except for the Tongariro Crossing which I would need alpine and mountaineering experience for! I think I will do it when I am over here in summer months... Still, we did a nice walk up to a lookout of Tongariro National Park. It was so strange being surrounded by snowcapped mountains, (one being Mt Doom from Lord of the Rings) I can't wait for that in the south island...

So, since jumping out of a plane I have only done one other extreme activity, I know I'm slacking..ahaha... I went on the longest, fastest and highest flying fox! Was in a little place called Taihape, where I stayed by myself in this hotel for $20 - got my own single room, ensuite with towel and soap...plus the best thing ever...an ELECTRIC BLANKET!!
Anyway, the flying fox was amazing. Gone are the days of getting scared to jump and zip down on a tyre at Marsh Farm (I was a wuss when I was little), this zip line is
Woah...Woah...Woah...

Try fitting that on an envelope...
about 160m above a massive canyon! Zooming through the air at 150km per hour! The weather wasn't the best for this, as it was raining and the raindrops felt like little needles on my face at that speed! You are of course wrapped and secured well, in a cocoon like harness and laying on your belly facing forward like Superwoman...
The guys running the flying fox today were very kind, as they gave me a second go FOR FREE! Maybe because I might be their only customer on this dreary day...they also gave me a FREE scrumptious hot chocolate when I got back to the base on a beefy quad bike, that 'ride' was fun in itself!

I also went to the longest place name in the world. It is ridiculous how long the name is, the sign for it was huge! Situated in the middle of nowhere, I could only see sheep and an abandoned shack like house, surrounded by heaps of hills lined with little fences. I love the fences that go up, down, over and around hilly New Zealand, some are just so steep, I think they are really cute and can't stop photographing them!
Everywhere...Everywhere...Everywhere...

I have fallen in love with views like this, driving through such windy roads and crazy hills with sheep and lovely fences everywhere...

Recently I stayed with my neighbour's relatives in art deco Napier, it's great having contacts whilst travelling! They were so kind and welcoming, such lovely people. I really appreaciate having my own room now, a real towel rather than my shammy like travel towel, a fridge full of food and drink and a comfy sofa! I felt so bad though as whilst reversing off of their driveway, I was trying to avoid the birdbath on my left and instead went bang into their postbox at the end of the driveway, breaking it and creating a few deep scratches on the car as well...yes I know, I'm a stupid silly little girl...



Advertisement



27th July 2006

gday!
Off to work so will read later xxxx mmmmwwwaaahhh xxx
27th July 2006

FLYING DAD
I can remember being put into a caccoon at Corination street but nothing like what you have just done. Is that a river down below. Can't wait to hear more about it all when we meet up. Love Dad
27th July 2006

Hello again
The zip slide look great, sort of thing i could do instead of throwing myself out of planes. New zealand looks alot colder than Oz however looks and sounds a great place. Not long Lucy till you have to come back home and get your study head on....saying that i guess not much studying takes place in your first year! more like can you tie your shoe laces at the same time as balancing a pint of the amber nectar on your head and all that!! Having a BBQ saturday, Al , Nod Conner and Ellie are coming aswell as Mel ross and new baby holly....Joshua wants his paddling pool out, Hopefully weather will hold out. Laters sis! xx
27th July 2006

Oh dear!
Oh dear after the Gawthornes family gave you such a welcome, at least they wont forget you!!!! The photo of you just hanging there makes me feel ill, and you did it twice are you mad!......dont answer that. Drive carefully backwards aswell as forward eh? God Bless, Love you mumxxx

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb