Shiny silver bodies all around me...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
August 1st 2006
Published: August 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I see mountains...I see mountains...I see mountains...

I actually love mountains, the south island continues to amaze me...
When I arrived in Kaikoura it was pitch black and I went straight to the hostel along the esplanade. After a game of yahtzee and a good nights sleep I woke up to something very unexpected...a spectacular view of the Kaikoura Ranges across the water opposite the hostel, covered with snow. I knew these ranges were really nearby but didn't have a clue what direction. It was such a lovely suprise to start my day with which just got even better...

After putting on my sexy wetsuit, socks and jacket I boarded a small boat which sailed out for 20 minutes to the open ocean. At this point I put on my flippers, balaclava type thing, gloves and snorkel and waited for the horn to sound. ''beeeeep'' I was now in the water, facing down...a mere second went past before two beautiful dolphins swam underneath me, followed by a few more that brushed past my side. I was completely surrounded by these wonderful creatures. I then started to put into practice some of the ways we were told would entertain them. They are very much wild dolphins and we were their entertainment and not the other way around. So I
Heaps...Heaps...Heaps...

of beautiful dolphins, chilling out in the ocean...
made eye contact with one of the Dusky dolphins and started spinning round in circles and it followed me! We were having a competition, who could spin round the fastest..of course I lost. At one point I had about 5 dolphins circling round with me, it was such an amazing feeling.

I swam with the pod of dolphins 4 times in total. You had to keep getting back on the boat and then off again as the pod is constantly moving. For every dolphin you can see on the surface there are about five more under the water! Approximately 300 dolphins were in this pod. It was just chaos at one point, I couldn't believe how many there were and I was just in the middle of it all! It was unbelievable.

As if I wasn't lucky enough to be experiencing this, I also had another little friend come up and play with me in the water. A cute little seal! I turned around expecting to see another dolphin but had to take a double take when I saw a huge pair of innocent eyes looking back at me, before it came and swam round me so playfully.
High as a mountain...High as a mountain...High as a mountain...

I was so happy that morning, waking up to mountains...
Man it was so sweet and I certainly felt very special as no one else on the trip saw it...

After all the swimming we all got changed and were given a pleasant cup of hot chocolate to drink whilst watching the dolphins. They put on quite a display for us, spins, slaps, backflips, tail smacks and everything! I could have watched them for the rest of the day. It is definately one of the best things that I have experienced in New Zealand. For them to accept us into their home is just wonderful and to be that close to my favourite animal is very special...

Advertisement



6th August 2006

Wow! Im soo jealous, it sounds amazing! I got home last week and wish I was back over there already! Im gutted I didnt have time to travel to NZ, but Im definitely gonna go there one day - thats my next goal hehe. Anyway, keep having a fantastic time and let me know when youre back at home so we can keep in touch! Luv Sarah xx
6th August 2006

How wonderful
Amazing, fantastic, how good was that to play with wild dolphins! You never fail to amaze me on your journal ! what next I ask myself! Cant wait to see you, and it wont be long now, so make the most of it, times up very very shortly..........study beckons !!!!! Love you, God Bless mum xxx

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb