Career change


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
August 12th 2006
Published: October 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A few weeks ago I decided to pursue my long-term passion for teaching and contacted as many primary schools, including the Rudolf Steiner in Motueka, to try and establish a paid position. I started working at St. Joseph's School in Nelson and have had a brief insight into what it means to be a teacher, confirming in my mind that it is definately what I want to do and I'm eager to learn more about life in the classroom. The Catholic school has some quaint traditional values with a modern approach, and, by working as a teacher-aide, I am learning more than I could ever imagine. The teachers work together and recognise the importance of a strong support team, ending each week with a 'reviver' drink at the pub! It is so fantastic that I have changed my plans and will now stay in New Zealand for a second year of my working-holiday visa, trying to gain as much experience as possible in schools.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Tramping up Mount ArthurTramping up Mount Arthur
Tramping up Mount Arthur

David, Sakina, Nicola, Sara, Marcia and myself


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb