Forming friendships


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
June 19th 2006
Published: August 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My travelblog has been quite neglected recently as I have been concentrating on enjoying the comforts of settling in to a new home and focusing my energy on building up a busy social life. I knew instantly that Nelson would be somewhere to call 'home' for a while and I have even surprised myself at my achievements. Within twenty-four hours of living here I had secured a job in a glassblowing studio called flamedaisy and found a fantastic flat in Harper Street sharing with Marcia and Brendyn and their german wire-hair pointer, Texas.

I was over-the-moon that things quickly started to fall into place, although also enjoyed the communal atmosphere while staying at Paradiso Backpackers in Weka Street of sharing homemade soup in the evenings, playing cards and watching a few footie games of the World Cup. It's a super- friendly place run by Rhonda and definately features in my top ten of favourite places to stay.

One of the main attractions in Nelson is the Saturday market where people gather and sit with a coffee and oliebollen, which are tasty little fried apple fritters from the Netherlands, traditionally served on New Year's Eve. There's a magical feeling to supporting the local traders and taking time to talk with friends. Even if I don't have anything to buy, it's a great spot to hang out in the sun and feel the community spirit. I love it.

I am pleased to have established a regular weekly programme of events to provide a highly fulfilling life here and the list is exhausting so I'll try to summarize by saying I've been :

To the movies often, in particular a very funny silent Charlie Chaplin film called The Gold Rush where he was out in the wilderness, constantly slipping over in the snow and being blown about in the harsh weather, all accompanied by live keyboard music.

Various music concerts including Kiwi bands Katchafire and The Black Seeds.

A weekly tap-dacning class in Tahunanui.

Leading Enner Glynn Scouts playing games and activities.

Walking Texas and playing frisbee at the beach.

Eating fish and chips overlooking the harbour.

Dancing at a free flow class and lots of parties and bars in town.

Talking and playing cards (Shanghai) with friends.

Walking the labyrinth in Nelson Cathedral.

Celebrating mid-winter with mulled wine and mince pies.

Walking up to the geographical centre of New Zealand.

Meeting friends for lunch at the Suter art gallery.

Hanging out on the beach at Cable Bay.

Sampling local beers at the Craftbrewers fair.

Knitting my first pair of gloves using merino wool at a regular sewing circle.

Working a four-day week at the glassblowing studio and supplementing my income by waitressing at casual functions, often at the World of Wearable Arts.

And on a practical note I have successfully serviced my car, replacing the windscreen and passing it through it's warrant.

Needless to say over the past few weeks I have met some incredible people and built amazingly strong friendships with them. I love sharing our lives and talking openly and honestly with each other, being kind, caring and respectful. Nelson has a very special place in my heart.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



10th September 2006

hi!
hello kate, what a wonderful blog entry! I adore all your pictures, and your writing- those are all the things I love about living here, too. It's been lovely getting to know you... xx

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb