Tramping experiences


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
January 21st 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Waterfall at the lakeWaterfall at the lakeWaterfall at the lake

First sight before I'd even got off the boat.
Hello again. Well since I last 'blogged', I have walked lots, pottered about a bit in Wellington with friend Paul and made the journey from North to South Island.

The first walk around Lake Waikeromoana(50k) was a good introduction to the wonderful world of tramping in New Zealand. DOC (Department of Conservation) huts are great invention. Hut 1 - two voluntary wardens, who even offered me a solar shower, plus showed me the local orchids etc. Hut 2 - had it to myself! Hut 3 - another lovely lakeside location but a bit busy (it was nearly full for goodness sake - a shock after hut 2), Hut 4 - on top of the 'bluff', got mistaken for a warden (what was I doing?!) and was surrounded by women and children (one poor man on his own must have wondered what he had walked in to).

The kindness of strangers was evident yet again. I gained various necessities such as extra toilet roll (and also which plant to use in the absence of any), a candle and some powdered fruit drink. I'm glad I took 5 days rather than the usual 4 as it gave me time to
First HutFirst HutFirst Hut

Very posh this one. Shame the mice ate some of my mountain bread. How come they left the 2 weeks' worth of food for the wardens?
look at things, chat and not rush in the morning.

After 30 something years of taking the world on my shoulders in every respect but physically, I now tried to carry most of it in my pack. Next time I will: decant stuff e.g. peanut butter will not stay in the glass jar; remember that all rubbish is carried out as well as in, so cut off broccoli stalks before starting, take nuts not in shells(!); er, be even more ruthless with first aid kit - I mean how many plasters does a woman need? Well, you learn by doing....
Other lesson - take your walking poles, do not leave in car.

Weather was lovely all walk which is most unusual. On return to the campsite it starting howling a gale and raining. at this point one of my tent poles broke. Fortunately various people were kind and helpful and we got the 'splint' on it so I had shelter for the night.

Drove via Napier on Friday and then arrived in Wellington on Saturday for a chilled weekend with friend Paul (who I met a couple of years ago climbing at the Westway climbing wall
Cup of tea - end of day 1Cup of tea - end of day 1Cup of tea - end of day 1

food and drink always tastes better outdoors.
in London). We sat in cafes, went swimming in the sea, bought triathlon kit for him (another person persuaded?), went to an outdoor concert in the botanic gardens, saw a movie and caught up on what we'd both been up to. Nice to be in a home again for a couple of days too.

Then, another tramp... 4 days this time, the easy way (aka 'slackpacking') where I took a day pack, stayed in backpacking/lodge places and had my big pack taken by boat. No blisters this time! Queen Charlotte Track (70k) is supposed to be moderate according the LP tramping guide (and the Lake one easy) but I would say it is the other way round - but perhaps that was just because of my pack. Two days of sun, one day of grey and one day of rain. During the rain I discovered that my waterproof wasn't. I've had a look for a new one today here in Nelson but going to try a special spray thing first. The walk is very pretty in the sounds.

Stayed last night in Havelock in the school that Rutherford (physicist - atoms man) went to. This hostel provided
Beautiful lake viewsBeautiful lake viewsBeautiful lake views

I thought this was pampas grass but apparently it is something else called 'Toi Toi' - not sure of spelling...
proper towels! Off to Motueka tonight before celebrating turning 35 tomorrow by going kayaking.... Hope to see seals etc

bye for now, more in a couple of weeks.
take care of yourselves
H


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Bridges wobbly like jellyBridges wobbly like jelly
Bridges wobbly like jelly

Lots of these bridges. Half expect to see an Indiana Jones or James Bond villain appear. Also the wobbliness reminded me of Lauren's words on a boat in September 'It's wobbly like jelly'.
Early morning dipEarly morning dip
Early morning dip

well it seemed like an opportunity not to be missed. Self timing photography challenge but one that was overcome.
One of the best bits of walking - EATINGOne of the best bits of walking - EATING
One of the best bits of walking - EATING

Lots of chocolate, muesli bars, fruit. Marvellous
A diversion - another waterfallA diversion - another waterfall
A diversion - another waterfall

Left my pack behind a tree to take an hour's diversion to see these falls. Amazing how much quicker I could walk.
The packThe pack
The pack

Has it got any smaller yet?
still a long way down to gostill a long way down to go
still a long way down to go

my poles, where are my walking poles?! Knees were a little sore after this descent.
Wellington cultureWellington culture
Wellington culture

A good bottle of red wine, some music outdoors, all very relaxing.
Queen Charlotte TrackQueen Charlotte Track
Queen Charlotte Track

Beside the sea....
Up and down...Up and down...
Up and down...

No pictures from day 2 - it just rained. Only a 4 hour walk so not too bad really - the best day for it to rain on.
Great viewsGreat views
Great views

I've tried to do a panoramic from here -will see when I get home whether it has worked or not.


Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb