Climbing every mountain, fording every stream - or not


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Tekapo
February 2nd 2006
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello again. I'm in Mount Cook at the moment, having an afternoon off (!). I had planned to go kayaking on a glacial lake complete with small icebergs etc at the end of a glacier but a tumble this morning when I was out walking has put paid to that. So I have ice on my leg instead of paddling past it. Just cuts and bruises, nothing too disastrous just very sore and a kind woman on reception at the YHA cleaned me up as my attempts were somewhat basic. First aid course when I get home....

A few things have gone awry in the last week or so, just in case you were getting too envious of me having fun ALL the time: I slipped coming out of the shower last week - just a bashed wrist which has recovered; left my poles behind for my 3 day guided alpine trek - hoping they will turn up, otherwise will buy a new set; fell off a wobbly rock towards the end of a 7 hour ascent on the first day of the trek - grazes and bruises again; ripped my Rohan trousers (in the bottom) somehow that day (currently patched with duck tape); ripped my other long trousers in the knee in the this morning's fall; got a puncture yesterday (the car obviously); decided not to do the Ball Pass crossing (3rd day of the 3 day trip, and the focus of the trip! - so just descended from the hut instead) as got too scared on the 2nd day trying to do a steep traverse on a ridge with a heavy pack and strong wind blowing - it was the right decision, but I was disappointed with myself at the time. Now I have a different perspective on it - I am glad I tried it, if only to find out where my limits are at the moment. Plenty of other walks, mountains etc to enjoy without thinking 'I'm in serious danger of falling off and dying here'!

On the fording every stream side, did a couple of river crossings on a walk on the west coast but decided against a 2 day walk full of them - just not experienced enough to do lots of them on my own.

However on the up side: I'm still here, New Zealand is still great, the mountains and glaciers were/are beautiful, it was peaceful up at the hut, the guide changed my wheel for me, and no joints or bones damaged so I can still do the Kepler track next week I think! I admit to a few low moments in the last few days but intend to enjoy the remaining 7 weeks of my trip as much as possible. It would be v nice to have a good friend or Team Thomas for some hugs and looking after for a little while, but time for that when I am home again!

I hope to add some photos at the weekend if Queenstown has the technology....
bye for now
Helen x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb