Cinema, Glaciers & Wet Socks


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
November 12th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

HeliHeliHeli

Helicopter just drops you on a tiny ledge! Very cool
Hi Guys

On my way now, following itienary and thank goodness I have one, so much to see and so many places to stop and stay. Dropped off Tinkerbell at Nelson airport on Monday, picked up my new steed, named it 'Steely' as it is a grey Mitsubishi Grey Colt....it's an automatic!! So lot's of fun with me stamping the floor where my cluth pedal should be.

Headed through Murchison (too bad weather to go over the longest swingbridge here, what a shame!), Punakaiki - here I stopped and braved the wind and drizzle to see the pancake rocks and the blowholes....but tide was out so no sea blowing up through the holes in the rocks, but was still cool and took some pics. Also good to stretch legs and grab a Chai Latte - about a 5 hours drive in total on the Monday)

Through Greymouth and then onto Hokitika where I was staying the night. Amazing B&B that used to be old Doctors base when the Gold Rush hit this area, unpacked and went straight into town for a try at local fish and chips - Blue Cod, then more photos - what was exciting was
Ice CaveIce CaveIce Cave

Me in an ice cave!
I found town theatre (Crooked Mile) and I watched the movie Mongol there, what is amazing is it is a medium size hall with about 10 leather sofas all scattered towards screen, you get a beer or wine, some chocolate and curl up in this local hall, IT WAS BRILLIANT way to see a movie! Then at about 22:00 went to a Glow Worm Dell (pitch black obviously), was walking up a hill with tiny flashlight, heading onto unknown path in dark and suddenly thought 'there aren't many places a lone woman can head down a dark path like this!' Glow Worms were very cool, extremely bright and are the larvae of Fungus Fly which someone whispering to me in the dark kind of spoilt it a little! lol

Headed off in morning after buying some painted rocks with comical kiwis on, seeing a kiwi in an enclosure (they really are cutest birds!) and have a helluva a screech on them! Set off for Frans Josef Glacier - 2 1/2 hour drive. Got here (few post box shots on the way!) and went straight out on little (6 seater) plane over the glaciers, Mount Cook and it was spectacular!!
Awesome ViewAwesome ViewAwesome View

View of down the glacier...couldn't believe I was wakling around on it!
I got over the fear of a small plane quickly, took some cool pictures, then turbulane strike, a little buzzer went off and I took no more photos.....but I did leave my fingernail marks in the seat infront of me!! ha!

Found BnB, had couples hour walk around walks in forest with glimpses of glacier, found another swingbridge and CONQUERED my fear!! Have photos of up, down, length and everything =) (bet you're proud Mum!) Had early night after writing lots and lots in my journal which I'm doing every night.

Helo-hike today, up early, huge boots, waterproof coat and gloves on - get on helicopter (first time and it was ace, much better than little plane, just bit noisy), got off on Glacier, walked around, I was at the back and it's like Chinese Whispers, you're supposed to follow guides footfalls exactly...well by time I'm following guy in front it's nothing like his path! So, you guessed it, I put my foot down a slushy bit (had crampons on) right upto my thigh.....it was bloody cold!! Got out and dried off pretty quick, felt embaressed until a few others did it and I felt better. Some amazng
ProofProofProof

I'm really here!!
views of the vivid blue ice that is almost neon (due to compaction) saw some ice fall from above us (really loud), went in some wicked ice caves (kind people took photos for me) and then the clouds came in quick and we were helicoptered out pretty quick - all extremely exciting and I had to have TWO chai lattes just now to calm myself down! 😉

Off to soak in some Glacier hot pools and then hopefully do a night Kiwi watching tour tonight!

Hope everyone is good at home, missing you all and wish everyone was here with me experiencing this!

Liz (the adventurer!!) x


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Blue Blue BlueBlue Blue Blue
Blue Blue Blue

Photo can't do the blue justice!


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb