Rock Climbing Hurts!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
November 14th 2008
Published: November 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Frans Josef GlacierFrans Josef GlacierFrans Josef Glacier

View from plane looking down Glacier, I hiked about 2/3 way down from where you can see
As the subject says, Rock Climbing hurts....why did noone warn me of this? =) Went climbing for first time ever this morning, I can honestly say I am aching in places I didn't know existed already (good job the lodge has a hot tub!)

So, had long 5 n bit hour drive yesterday, lots of picturesque stops and photo oppurtunities, little dodgy looking cafes on side of the road with awesome chai lattes and fresh salmon bites. Ended up at Lake Wanaka, stopped off at Puzzle World - it was hilarious, first 2 storey outdoor maze, took me an hour and half to find each corner and then make my way out...was alot of fun. Also had ilusion rooms, puzzles, riddles (Em and Dan you would of loved it!!) and holograms that blow your mind. It was good to do something mental and not just physical (although apparently you walk about 2-3km when doing maze). Bought a 2x2 mini rubiks cube to keep me occupied when not collapsing in evenings.

I discovered on my long journeys that they have extraordinary amount of Creeks, Rivers and Culverts (can someone please tell me what one of these is??) and they each
Awesome White ViewsAwesome White ViewsAwesome White Views

Amazing to see untouched snow at top, loved it!
have a name. So I have been trying to zip along these picturesque roads, snapping pics of post boxes, valleys, wildlife, trees, mountains, road signs and witty creek signs.....I swear since hitting 32 I have the toilet humour mind of a 12 year old...(see pic)! In a nutshell I have been testing the brakes on ole steely when suddenly spot a fnah fnah road sign!

Lake Wanaka is great little town, it faces onto the lake itself and has the dramatic mountain range with Mount Aspiring as a backdrop, seriously you could not imagine a more beautiful lake location. Again as with everywhere so much to do and choose from so Rock Climbing is great round here so off I went. I failed on first two attempts with swearing, 'get me off here' 'how am I supposed to put my foot there' 'this isn't fun' and 'are you MAD!!' (luckily I got a one to one session with experienced instructor who just laughed and supported me loads. Had a break, watched birds of prey, talked philosophy, had alot of water and chilled...then got up, and went straight up to top, no hesitation or worries about where feet were going....still
Mount CookMount CookMount Cook

Amazing!
hurt and I was shaking like a fish shaped jelly mould and sitll obligatory swearing (sorry Mum)....but I did it, got to top and gave biggest WOOP!!!! Then abseiled down, it was great fun.....PGL when I was younger put me off till now. For those of you in the know it was a 20m 11-12 (but already climbed up rope about 20m), so no scale 30 but I'm so chuffed...face still aching from smiling!

Photos attached are of Frans Josef flight and my climbing today (jeez the harness isn't exactly a slimming black number is it!!) Definately off to another leather sofa cinema experience with home made ice cream.....day could only get better if David Boreanez was waiting for me in my lodge room!! =p (sorry Grem, I meant you of course) xx

Missing home SOOOOOOOOOOO much, email me and send me gossip, news or even photo pf your smiling mugs?

Liz xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Smallest PlaneSmallest Plane
Smallest Plane

Now that's a small plane when you're used to a Boeing 747
Knights PointKnights Point
Knights Point

The kind of places I get to stop stretch legs, snap and take in the vivid colours
BumpsBumps
Bumps

Also another site I get to see when driving! ( I know I'm a child =p)
Do they really??Do they really??
Do they really??

(will leave you to work that one out =)
The MazeThe Maze
The Maze

Wicked fun, some people left by emergency exits, I laughed and bumbled my way around - no method, just luck!
Lake WanakaLake Wanaka
Lake Wanaka

Where I am now, very beautiful place
Climbing Me!Climbing Me!
Climbing Me!

See, evidence I did the stuff of rock climbers...that is a grimace not a smile by the way! Harnesses are SO not flatttering ;)


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb