Rain Rain go Away...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
May 19th 2007
Published: May 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well its raining... its pouring and this young man is snoring...
Turns out that on the ride into franz joseph, i got the idea that maybe I should cancel my glacier hike. the weather looked bad, and i did not want to spend 135$ for a walk in the rain. Not that i mind rain, i just want to be able to get some great photos of the glacier. That and i destroyed my rain gear in a tumble in National park, so i am without rain pants. So, all excuses aside i got to sleep in and relax. The Rainforest retreat here in Franz Joseph is okay. Not the 5 star hostel i was staying at in wellington, but enough for my refined tastes.
As for friends and strange meetings, i met up with islah in blend the night before i left. Turns out that she was there on a kontiki tour and when i was dancing on a table she came up and over and i got the biggest hug, and almost got knocked off the table. Fun and exciting. Turns out we will not see each other again, since I am heading south and she is heading north. I felt a bit sad to see a good friend for such a short period of time but its better to be in touch than not at all.
As for other friends, my good friend Kelly is on her way back home from london. Just got a good msg from her confirming that both her and her daughter are safe and sound. Kelly if you are reading this, I am so glad you did what you did. It has been a great help in giving me some direction with what to do with future trips.
Also, the book is going swimmingly. I have about 16-17 stories so far, each unique and with some moral or funny moment. I am sure by the time i get home i will have more than enough materials to write ten books. Lol.
Annnnnd, it also turns out that the job i had at the YHA has fallen through. Complete bust. Looks like i will not be working there. A bit of a kick in the teeth, but hey, it wasnt ment to be. Turns out the people they thought were leaving decided to stay. So that leaves me unemployed and in the lurch. But i also get to travel.
Not much more to say, same old same old.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb