Out of the frying pan....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
May 15th 2007
Published: May 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, leaving wellington tomorrow. Kind of a mixed feeling on the whole leaving thing. On the bad side, i have to leave my friends and the comfort of the hostel which is becomming my second home. On the good side, is that i will be away from the day to day drudgery that constitutes my boring unemployed life. We will see what happens on the south island. I really prefer to work. So i am hoping to get to milford sound, and see stewart island, then start considering dropping off resumes as i head back. I dont want to wait until the YHA job starts, but i have not heard from them today (tuesday) and they said they would call me this week in regards to the start day of my new job (some time next month).
Also, finished sending the package to the school in zimbabwe (thanks for the address kelley) and hope to keep in touch with the pastor there to maybe do some vounteering after i get my own life sorted out. I also sent a parcel home with the bungie jumping DVD (feel free to watch it when it gets there Ryan/Mom/Dad).
As for the daily in's and outs, i am no longer learning NZ sign language as fast as I hoped i would, as my friend has changed hostels. But i will be practicing with the sign language book i picked up.
Also, uploaded alot of photos to www.flickr.com/photos/lostcargo as it appears to be a better way to share my photos than the blog. Faster to upload and organize. I will be posting some odds and ends here though.

Also, i am on www.facebook.com , so if you are also on it feel free to add me if you know my email address.

Well, tonight will be a quiet evening at Mac's with some good friends. its bitter sweet leaving them all behind, but this is what travelers do. Also, i have had a bit of an apiffany. In Australia, i was a hard core tourist. Not a traveler. Here i am a traveler. The difference being is that here i have met locals, spent time hanging out, talked to them about current issues and events, and emersed myself in the culture of wellington. In australia, i was not be bothered to do more than hit the attractions. I am hoping my second trip to australia will be one of travel rather than a tourist style. But thats a long way away.

And... the bro is selling my 1998 Chevy blazer for me. This is a good thing, since i want to 1) bouy up the funds and 2) get rid of the gasoline chugging 4x4. The next car i buy will be a small honda front wheel drive, or the like.

Well, have a good day everyone, tomorrow i will be heading south on a long drive through familiar places. This time even more prepared for the adventure!

Advertisement



15th May 2007

Hello from London
Hey Richard, Dakotah and I are on our way back home. Its sad. I just dread going back to work back home. Thats great that you got the package sent off. Temba should be back in Zim tomorrow or the day after. I'll be on more regularly once I get back home and will update my blog too. I got a new insight on longterm missionary life in Namibia. And was amazed at the contrast between Namibia and Zim. Take Care and travel well. Kelly

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb