Lots of ice


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Fox Glacier
February 28th 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick one as don't have much time. I arrived here from Wanaka today. Spent yesterday hiking up to the Rob Roy Glacier in the Mount Aspiring range near Wanaka. This was incredible - a lovely day walk, although quite a few people around. I ate lunch lying in a meadow staying up at this huge glacier a few hundred metres above me, with hundreds of waterfalls pouring down the sides of the valley.

This afternoon I did a guided walk on Fox glacier - this is amazing because its only 200m above sea level, and about 20km from the coast, yet there's this massive pile of ice. I couldn't understand how it hadn't melted. But now I know all about glaciers, and could explain it to anyone who's interested! Plus got to wear cramp-ons. And the bonus of the day was spending the afternoon in a group with 4 Polish-Canadian nuclear scientists, who were the stupidist people I've met so far. They were all wearing hats with 'I'm Canadian' written on them, and spent the whole time asking things like 'should I have my camera out now?', 'do I need to wear a jumper?', etc, etc....


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb