Countdown... to departure for Cambodia


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Dunedin
May 29th 2010
Published: May 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This trip has been so well planned .... why do I feel this pressure on me two weeks prior to departure?
Dunedin in New Zealand is cold and wet, (in fact its raining all the time) and going outside means getting a chilled drenching. I have only two weeks to finish my business here and get my "gear" packed - and there seems to be too much of it at the moment. I don't really want my pack to weigh in at more that 15 or 16 kg, and I also want to haul in some art gear so that I can work on location to some degree at Siem Reap in Cambodia. Emerging from the dull dank depths of sleepy New Zealand life is going to be great, especially since it feels like I have been held hostage here against my will for ONE somewhat tedious year. Blame it in the recession and the collapse of the New Zealand finance companies.... and I still have a nasty tribunal hearing on this matter, three days before departure, just to increase the tension yet further.
And in these final days a website featuring my art work focused on Nepal and India is being constructed, so its all very exciting and I ought to be working on that now. And I have to say that in my last few months in NZ I have spent alot of time reading other peoples travel blogs on this great site and have got so much from it, that I feel I ought to give something back as my forthcoming journey looms closer. A toast to armchair travel, and peering into other peoples reponses to the diverse world around them. And a celebration to all the traumas and trials associated with travel, that at some point become worthwhile, satisfying and rewarding.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb