Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
May 9th 2007
Published: May 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We landed in Christchurch and caught a bus into the town centre (I think they call it a city centre, but that would probably create a false image for anyone who's not been there) As I observed the views from the bus window I thought that it looked very 'English', at least as far as the natural surroundings were concerned, the parks and trees etc. The architecture of the buildings is not so typically English, although it is very much a mixture of Northern European styles, at least that's how it appeared to me anyway.

When walking around the town centre it was not as cold as i had expected it to be, I mean it is obviously a lot cooler than Australia, it is Autumn here after all and the Autumn season here presents a similar climate to that at home. It was however a beautiful sunny day clear blue sky and although the air was very crisp and fresh, I actually liked that, it made a novel change to the hot climates that we have been in consistently for the last 5 months. It was comfortable enough to walk around in a T-shirt at mid day although that did change later in the afternoon.

Christchurch is a very pleasant picturesque place, the Autumn colours in the leaves on the many trees just add to its appeal and because my brain is programed to associate Autumn with the run up to Christmas coupled with the fact that I missed all of that this year being in the hot climate of Thailand meant that it created that Christmas feeling inside whilst walking around which was nice. I said to James, I keep expecting to find one of those German style craft markets that always pop up at Christmas, no sooner had I said this than we turned the corner and walked straight into one.

We spent a few days in Christchurch before renting a car and getting on the road to travel around the South Island.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

SculptureSculpture
Sculpture

I visited the art gallery in Christchurch as I have done in many of the places i have been to. This is one of several sculputres by one artist that are displayed in various locations around the town
Giant Chess in the Town CentreGiant Chess in the Town Centre
Giant Chess in the Town Centre

I thought these guys were going to be good and I was going to challenge the winner to a game but I realised whilst watching that they would be no match for me and i wasn't prepared to waste my time with someone who doesn't present a challenge.


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb