Christchurch - Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
October 26th 2006
Published: November 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

CHRISTCHURCH - Stayed in Christchurch for about 4 days, and had a relaxing time. More shopping, and a bit more booze. On our first full day here Maddy and I decide to treat ourselves, so I go to get a back massage which was LUSH! Bumped into Alex who asked where I went to get my massage, so gave him the directions, only to find out later on that he accidentally went to a different type of 'massage parlour', and only realised when the woman gave the body movements to what was on offer!
The 2 cripples and Lara arrive later on in the day! Feel sorry for Lara as she has had to look after both of them - carrying around 2 rucksacks and a suitcase!! But it is a rather funny sight seeing Kelly and Pella on crutches. Because they did the injuries in such mundane ways (falling down stairs and tripping over a bag) they have decided to start lying and say that they did it sky diving and horse riding!
The following day Cripple No2 Kelly and I go round the shops, which involves me getting a wheelchair to push her around in as she is tired from using her crutches.
Went to shooter's bar which was good fun, 3 dollar drinks so made the most of it! Had a really good night although got some mikey taking from Laura and Ryan.
In my last day we go around in a tram to see the City. It is a lovely city probably prefer it to Queenstown as it is less of just a party town, and our hostel is right on Catherdral Square.
Go out on the last night as it is Lara's last night before she flys home to Scotland!! Gutted! It is also Pella's birthday tomorrow. But not a massive late one as it is an early morning. Pella manages to win a 3 day car hire from a bar playing rock, paper, scissors.

KAIKORA - Get on the bus in the morning and it feels really weird as I think it will be just little old me as a lot of 'newbies' get on. So am relived to see that Katie and Laura are there and travelling up to Taupo and also John and Simon are going up to Kaikora. The hostel we arrive at is really sweet, share a room with Laura, Katie.

I go swimming with dolphins in the afternoon which was amazing. You wear wetsuit etc, snorkel and flippers. In the area there are lots of pods of wild dolphins so we go out in a boat in the middle of the sea and when the dolphins become attracted to the boat you jump. Good fun as the idea is that you entertain the dolphins and not the other way around. So have to make dolphin sqeals etc, at one point I have at least a dozen swimming around me (and maybe about 50 in the actual pod) they are so close you could touch them.
It is knackering though and I am rubbish at using flippers. To begin with I try and do the breast stroke whilst swimming in them!

Hang around the hostel for a while when we get back, then go out to watch GB V's NZ Rugby Game. NZ win, and we manage to see Nebel on the TV as some of the gang went to the game.

Play some pool with Laura / Katie and John which could possibly be the longest game in the world ever...... as Laura and I kept getting the giggles (due to a Dutch guy who had got on the bus and get kept saying random things like 'I have never kissed a guy'). Then go to another pub and on the way back to the hostel we end up playing on the swings in the playground next to the hostel.

TRAVEL TO WELLINGTON - Tomorrow is a long day as we have to get the ferry again to the North Island, plus I've caught a cold and feel run down (probably to having a month where I have averaged 4 hours sleep a night) so make the most of the free champagne, then get a lemsip and an early night.

TRAVEL TO TAUPO - Feels weird coming back to places that I have already been to on the way down, but with none of the originals being there, although I 'm going to see most of them in a few days when I get to OZ. As I have already spent a few days here before though it gives me a chance to write some of the postcards I have bought on the way.
Am in a room with Katie, Laura and Amanda plus a couple of girls. These are planning on doing the sky dive here and keep saying how nervous they are. I keep telling them how fantastic it and thinking about it makes me want to do it again - so tempted! We go to the Irish bar and have a good time, chatting to everyone, including a Scottish guy called James who works at the hostel and one of the KE drivers - who keep buying black sambucca - Bleugh! We go to the bar next door where your allowed to dance on the tables!

TRAVEL TO AUCKLAND - So my last full day in New Zealand and also halloween. Feel really upset about leaving. New Zealand is such a great country, probably the only country that I have ever visited and really would love to live there - guess I'm going to have to meet a Kiwi boy and fall in love. The stunning views, everyone is so easy going, and you never see a traffic jam ever - what's not to love! Although I don't know if I could live so far away from my family and friends all the time!
Long trip to Auckland so we watch a film on the way up, and Team Ireland also get on so get chatting to them. When we stop off at the KE office in Auckland bump into Maddy and we both buy 'Sweet As Bro' T-shirts and agree to wear on the plane tomorrow.
Go out for a couple of drinks in the evening to say goodbye to Smiley, Paddy, Caroline and Amanda.
Following day travel to airport where as fate would have it Maddy and I are sat next together on the plane, wearing our KE T-shirts, and talking about the fantastic times we have had there!! Australia will have a lot to live up to if it wants to impress me!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb