End of the Summer


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Canterbury Plains
August 28th 2007
Published: August 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Walk to CheesemanWalk to CheesemanWalk to Cheeseman

It's amazing, we can bootpack for an hour and arrive at another ski field! Here's Ivan and I half way there!
The days have been cascading by and suddenly I'm staring at the calendar realizing that August is over. At home the leaves will soon be starting to turn, and I should be browsing the shelves for my new textbooks. Instead, I'm staring out the window, watching the weather turn warmer. My summer is ending, as spring is starting.

I spent yesterday afternoon building an igloo. It's actually quite a challenging endeavor and I'm not sure whether my help was appreciated. Apparently, good igloo builders can whip one up in about an hour. I spent about that amount of time trying to get one block sitting straight. Every time I cut one side to make it fit with the corresponding block, the angle on the other side of the block would have magically changed. By the time it finally fit, I think it was about half the size of the original block. I'm hoping that the igloo is finished before I leave in two weeks time so that I can sleep in it, or more likely lie awake shivering all night!

I ended up staying up on the hill until one o'clock in the morning. There was a lunar eclipse, so we decided to go night skiing. After everyone was tired, we turned off all the lights on the hill and watched the moon being gobbled up. It took about three hours before moon was back in its full glory. By that time there were only three of us left and we all agreed that we were pretty lucky that everything is exactly as it is. But, not everything can stay the same forever.

Endings are always sad. I want to skip quickly over the waiting period, the goodbyes, and the nostalgia and wake up suddenly to a new beginning. I know that I need to leave, and I'm starting to want to go home because everything will be comfortable, familiar, and safe. Soon, the spell of school will take over and I'll be so focused that the adventures of the summer will start to fade in memory. Until then, I'll try and make the best of the short time that is left, and tie up any remaining loose ends.

Next time in Erin's travelblog: the highlights! A recap of the most memorable moments. (For anyone who didn't read or missed some of the other entries, but is still curious about the misadventures of the past four months).

Cheers darlings, I hope you have laughed and learned from my follies, and are inspired to partake in some yourselves!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1134s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb