Long time no contact


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Canterbury Plains
August 10th 2007
Published: August 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In hopes that not everyone has given up on my travelblog I am writing a brief summary of the past few weeks. I haven't been updating because I've had a run of bad luck and haven't particularly wanted to report on it. However, purging my pent up frustration might be therapeutic, therefore I'll sum up the string of unlucky events:

1. My beloved car Mark wouldn't start one fine morning. A mechanic who was up at the hill took a quick look at it and reckons that I've broken the cam belt. Apparently, I've driven with a damaged belt just long enough to completely destroy the whole engine. So, at the moment I'm figuring out how to get poor Mark to the nearest junkyard without having to pay for a tow truck. Normally, I would just ask one of the boys with a truck to tow me. However, we would have to go through a narrow, steep pass, and it would likely destroy the other car's breaks; sending up plummeting off of the ravine.

2. It's raining. No one has been coming up to the hill. Therefore I'm not working very much and not making very much money. I guess this is alright seeing how I can't leave the mountain without a car and it's very difficult to buy things up here. Although, with all my spare time, I just might become addicted to shopping on TradeMe, which is a New Zealand version of ebay.

3. I realized that I need to pay my credit card bill...for last month. This wouldn't be problematic, except I don't have any money left in that bank account, and I can't transfer money from my New Zealand account to my Canadian account without paying $50 and waiting for up to ten days. My plan is to get my sister to deposit some money into my Canadian account. She doesn't know about this yet.

4. I went skiing at another ski field for the day and somebody picked up my bag. Luckily it only had some city clothes and shoes in it. Unfortunately this meant that I was stuck in ski gear at the bar until everyone decided to pack it up around ten.

5. Did I mention that I don't have a car. Therefore, I'm stuck on the top of a mountain, in the rain. I'm trying to stay optimistic, but it's getting harder. Thankfully, at least I'm stuck up here with good people, so I'm not going insane yet.


However, it's not all bad news. Firstly, my roomate Chris and I are playing quite a bit of chess. Enough that I've actually developed some strategies! Also, I met a guy who's working at another ski field. We've been seeing quite a bit of each other lately and I'll admit I'm a bit infatuated. He's a hottie, but unfortunately a snowboard...and a jibber (guy who skis primarily in the park) so I'm skeptical.

Wish me (better) luck with all my endeavours. I'll be home in a month.

xoxo.
Erin

Advertisement



18th September 2007

home again
still reading ur journal...

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb