Leiderhosen!


Advertisement
Published: December 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Should I be worried about the young men in leiderhosen in the pitch next to me? They also yodel and play the accordion!

Last time I blogged I had just got to Queenstown. Felt a bit better the next day. Had a walk around the shops. Queenstown is quite commercial, but it made nice change. Got a few supplies and left about lunchtime and drove for the rest of the day and stayed a Haast. Haast was lovely and sunny. Got speaking to an American couple who tour New Zealand for 3mths every yr on a motorcycle.

Once I had a bite to eat I had quick walk and was lucky enough to spot 2 Keas in a tree.

I managed to get away bright an early the next morning and went to Fox Glacier, it took about 30 mins to walk to the face of the glacier. They have to assess the glacier each day to see how close you can get safely. Tourists have been killed in the past by falling ice because they ignored the warning signs. A very tame Kea was holding court when I got to the glacier, he was sat on a sign post with about 20 people around him taking photos.

By the way the Leiderhosen boys are now playing the spoons!

Had planned to see the Franz Josef glacier as well but it started raining by the time I got there so decided to cover some miles instead as only one wk left.

Stayed at Murchison last night but did not get there until 8pm. Must have been very tired as did not wake up until almost 9 this morning.

Was in two minds as to whether to head to Collingwood as I intended last night. Got talking to the lady who runs at the site at Murchison and she said I just had to go to Golden Bay (which is where Collingwood is), so that made up my mind. She was right Golden Bay is stunning.

Staying at site by beach tonight and will head to Picton tomorrow to get ferry back to North Island early Tuesday morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb