The most amazing drive, if you are ever in New Zealand you MUST go to Golden Bay


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
December 10th 2012
Published: December 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last night I stayed in Pohara, my intention being to drive to Nelson today. Whilst on the beach last night I thought that the coast to the west looked really pretty. So this morning I drove west (sorry that should be east!!) rather than going straight to Nelson.

Wow! What a drive.

The road went under a natural tunnel through the rock and from then on I was saying "Wow" out loud at every turn in the road for the next 20km.

Every turn gave an amazing view of the ocean. The road clung onto the edge of the hill overlooking the sea. The 1st 10km was tarmac but it had been washed away in several places so was fairly hairy to drive on. About 5km into the drive there was no longer any sign of man's influence on the native forest. No houses. No sheep or cows. No remnants of a gold rush or the timber industry. Just native forest.

After about 10km the tarmac road gave way to a dirt track. It was amazing to drive through native bush on a primative road. It was obvious the route of the road was constantly changing due to landslides. In fact I came to one that had probably only happened in last 48hrs, someone had used a chainsaw to clear a tree from the road and it was a very fresh cut! The road was only just wide enough for me to pass this point.

After 20km I came across the mist beautiful beach I have ever seen. The sand was truly golden and the water looked torquoise. There is actually a Department of Conservation campsite at the bay most people access it by water taxi. There about half a dozen people on a beach almost 2 miles long!

I took my shoes and socks off and walked along beach and had a paddle! If I was not on a deadline to catch a plane in Auckland in less than a week I could have happily spent a night or two at the campsite! Unfortunately, I have a lot of miles to cover in the next few days, so just could not stay 😞

After a couple of hours I headed back along the same route that I took to access the bay. A small landslide had happened in between the journey out and the journey back!

So back to plan A and onto to Nelson. When I got to the next town with a pharmacy I stopped because I have loads of insect bites on my ankles which are looking bit nasty. The pharmacist recommended I go to a doctor as the was not anything he could give me without a prescription. So instead of making it to Nelson today I spent the afternoon tracking down a doctor who could see me. Expensive business in the end; $25 for the doctor and $52 for the antibiotics and cream she pescribed.

Staying in Picton tonight as catching ferry back to North Island at 8am; have to be there by 7am. I have set my alarm for 6; that is going to come as such a shock. So I will sign off for now and get an early night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0903s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb