Abel Tasman.....Amazing!!!


Advertisement
Published: February 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

24th February 2009 - MEETING GEORGE, DAMN THOSE SAND FLIES & SCRUMMY PANCAKES!!!
We got up around 6 and were quiet as mice as we got dressed and got our things ready for our day out at Abel Tasman National park. Didn't wake anyone up I don't think either such considerate people that we are!! Once we had eaten breakfast and made our packed lunches for the day (yoghurt included) we got in the car and were on the road before 7am. Nats turn to drive today so I just took in the view. Once again it was magnificent and like something from a postcard!! Truly amazing!!

We made good time and were at our destination of Kaiteriteri by 8.30/9am. We checked in at the desk and then had a little walk along the beach to the boat taxi point. We were getting picked up at 9.45am for the Aqua Taxi Seals and Sand trip for a cost of $64. We basically would be taken in a boat to a point called Tonga, stopping at points of interest along the way and then we would walk back south until we reached Torrent bay. Once at Torrent we would be picked up again and taken back to the start. I was excited as the scenery was stunning and I had heard some talk about wild seals and dolphins in the water. I hoped for a close encounter!!

It was a lovely day...warm and sunny despite being early in the morning. Once at the taxi pint we sat on the beach for a good half hour waiting for our boat. We got on the taxi boat with a kayaking group and elderly couple who had booked the same thing as Nat and I. I was dead jealous of the kayakers as I wanted to do it but it was very expensive and my shoulder wouldn't have allowed me to!! Once the boat was full we were taken out to sea and cruised up the coast line.

The first time we stopped was at Split Apple Rock. This rock did exactly what it said on the tin and looked like a split apple. I loved it and wanted to get off the boat and re-create a photo I had seen of a man stood in the split. I had a whole plan going with Nat about how I could accidently fall
I love this Rock!!I love this Rock!!I love this Rock!!

Wanted to stand in it but couldn't :-(
out and then swim to the rock where she would take my photo but it didn't work. I was sat on the inside and with all the will in the world I could not make my fall out look like an accident!! Oh well...looked like I would have to just take a photo of the rock without me in it!! One lovely view saved from ruin I suppose!! We then moved on from Split Apple Rock and on to Torrent Bay where the driver explained briefly where we would be picked up from at the end of the walk. Nat and I were reprimanded as we were taking photos whilst we were supposed to be listening!! Don't think the driver knew that we could multi-task with the best of them....women that is!! The water taxi then moved on and continued to Bark Bay where all the kayakers got off the boat. They had a 17km kayak to do back to the start...I was very jealous!! Seriously!! That left 4 of us on the boat and heading towards Tonga. All the islands, shore line and scenery looked amazing!! I know I keep harping on about the beauty of the county but it's true.......love New Zealand 100%!!!


On our way to Tonga we stopped and slowly drove by a Tonga Island where loads of seals were lazing about on the rocks. Totally awesome!!! They looked well cute and very playful!! Wish we would have got closer but not possible!! Good to see them though!! Once we had seen enough seals, the boat taxi man drove us in towards shore. As he did a friendly dolphin called George began to swim in all the whitewash at the back of the boat and jump out of the water along side us. He was so so close I could practically touch him and it was totally cool!! He was a big one as well!! From a distance with the fin out of the water I would be thinking "Shark Attack" but up close he was lovely!! No Jaws music playing and not in any way menacing!! After a while we were taken into shore and George moved onto another boat coming in. He seemed to love the boats. We were stood on the beach watching when George decided to swim towards shore. We waded in a little and he got so close...he was
Love George!!Love George!!Love George!!

No zoom required!!
in knee deep water!! Seemed so friendly and I wanted to get in but daren't turn around and whip my clothes off as didn't want to miss anything!! $64 trip...totally worth it just for George alone!! You just don't have wild dolphins swimming around your feet everyday. As the kiwis would say...it was Sweet As!!!

Once we had watched George for long enough we set off on our walk towards Bark Bay stopping for a brief look at tonga Quarry along the way. I don't want to rub it in but once again....beautiful views!! The walk was really nice....bit hilly but good for the legs though I would have preferred to stay a bit closer to the shore line rather than being up in the trees. We arrived at bark Bay at around 12.30pm and parked our bottoms on the beach to have some lunch. Loads of little flies around which was not so pleasant and after a while I realised they were biting!! I had to cover myself up despite being hot, in a jumper and wrap my flag around my legs before I got bitten alive!! Love New Zealand 99%....the sand flies let it down and you sure don't get them on Scarborough beach in England!!

Just after 1pm we set off to do the rest of the walk to Torrent bay. Up in the trees again so couldn't see as much as we would have liked but what we did see was still amazing. We tried to get closer to the shore line and walked the low tide route but had to turn back when we reached the sea. Tide was too high and we would have been literally 'in over our heads'. The high tide route was still cool...got to see some water falls and walk over a big swing bridge much to Nats dislike!! I thought it was cool though!! We had some good chat on the walk and played a stupid game of "would you prefer" which started off with 'apples or grapes' and ended up a lot more serious and philosophical. Passed the time quickly!!

At around 2.30 it began to rain but luckily we had our trusty macs with us....never fail those babies!! Not so nice walking in the rain though and none of the views look quite as good. We had done well up to then though and so couldn't complain!! We arrived at Torrent Bay at 3pm...15 minutes late for the 2.45 taxi and the next taxi boat didn't arrive until 4.15. We had a choice to walk further for an hour but chose to stand at Torrent bay in the rain instead and hope for an early boat. Miracles happened and a boat came at around 3.15pm.....Sweet As!! We jumped on and were taken back to Kaiteriteri. The boat ride was fun...lots of stomach lurches!! Once on dry land we waved goodbye to Abel Tasman and headed back in the car to Nelson. It had been another great day out!!!

Back at the hostel we got the flour, eggs and milk out and got some pancake mixture on the go!! 2 frying pans on the go and we churned them all out perfectly!! We tossed a few too and i caught everyone!! Our fillings were jam or lemon/orange with sugar. We got through a good bowl full of mixture, eating whilst cooking until we were full to burst!! Loved it but I couldn't move after...had to lay down for half an hour!! I decided there and then that for lent i would give up chocolate, biccies and ice cream...yes...ice cream!! Not sure I would last but I would have a good go all the same!! As a final treat and once the pancakes had settled i went for some chocolate cake and ice cream at the bar...my last until 5th April!! Arrggghhhhh!!!!

We both fancied a film that evening and after trying to watch 'The Dark Night' and not wanting to ruin our experience whilst watching a bad copy, we went for 'Seven' instead. Good film but I fell asleep from start to end of the sofa. I should have just gone to bed. We started as the only ones in the tv room and I was so shocked when I woke and it was full!! Once finished, Nat woke me up and I walked - still half asleep - back to my room where I continued where i had left off!!


25th February 2009 - GOODBYE NELSON!!!
Woke up fairly early...we had a long drive to do and so wanted to set off at around 8am. We got up at 7 and were ready in plenty of time. We checked out, said goodbye to the hostel owner...nice man if a little fussy and loaded the car up!! I was so so tired and it was my turn to drive. Oh well.....sure I would be ok!! It was then goodbye Nelson.......here we come Kaikoura.




Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb