It's Easter Everywhere - and other observations


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
March 13th 2005
Published: March 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It's Easter Everywhere...It's Easter Everywhere...It's Easter Everywhere...

Chocolate Easter Eggs to appeal to all...
I have just flown down to Wellington from Auckland. I was up there entirely too long. If you don't know this about me yet, I am extremely partial to cities with interesting architecture, of which Auckland is void. Auckland is a rapidly growing city (1.2 million people) and there seems to be no aesthetic in planning it's growth. Still, the people are lovely.

Here are some random photos I've taken over the past week or so. Figured you all were tired of all the beach shots (so I've only included a couple!). ,~>

And some feedback would be greatly appreciated from time to time. Thanks!

More to come,
M-


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Girls Day OutGirls Day Out
Girls Day Out

Grant and I went to the Collectables Market (Flea Market) but ended up at Girls Day out by mistake. Turns out the Hunk wasn't a Collectable (not much of a hunk either, in my opinion).
PihaPiha
Piha

Piha is the next beach over from Karekare beach. Met some lovely people there. This is the view from their house.
A Tree Grows in PihaA Tree Grows in Piha
A Tree Grows in Piha

I think it's alive... More view from their yard
Sam and Kirsty in PihaSam and Kirsty in Piha
Sam and Kirsty in Piha

The residents. Lovely people. They make fab jewelry. Had to buy some of course - to support the locals!
NecklaceNecklace
Necklace

This is the necklace I bought off of Kirsty. She gave me an amazing deal and threw in two pairs of earrings, one of which she made special for me using locally found Green Stone. I couldn't resist!
Waiting for my PlaneWaiting for my Plane
Waiting for my Plane

This isn't it.
From Outer SpaceFrom Outer Space
From Outer Space

Almost at Wellington
Mt. EdenMt. Eden
Mt. Eden

Auckland is made up of many many volcanoes. Mt. Eden is the closest to the city center. The ridged crater at the bottom of the shot is where the opening was. All the volcanoes in the area are dormant.


Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb