So it begins... - Dec.16th


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island
December 16th 2006
Published: December 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My journey, after such long, long, flights. Getting to LA was insane, had never seen such a chaotic airport, people everywhere, taking up almost every square inch of the place. And getting from one terminal to the next was crazy, this lil old man that worked who was giving me directions on how to get to the international terminal saw my heavy load and whispered, "don't tell anyone" as he grabs those airport luggage buggies and hands it to me..."shhh, it's free for you"....good way to begin, huh? And yes, I needed that cart but once in the terminal, like i said, it was so packed, my cart was just a hazard, I almost ran into a lil girl, her mom just grabbed my arm and looked at me with such hatred...my bad!!!
I don't think I like airports anymore.
Then I finally arrived, after 10 hours, to Nadi Fiji. As you get off the plane, the himidity hits you but the views from afar are just spectacular, with the "sleeping giant in the distance, and Mina's flying everywhere! But little did I know that my 4 hour layover was going to turn into a 6 hour wait!
But finally, I arrived to Auckland. Tired, hungry and ready for a shower, I show up to the hostel. The owner, quickly gave me a tour of the joint, couldn't understand one word he was saying, don't know if it was bc i was tired, bc I have hearing problems, or what? So I told him, "sorry, but repeat what you just said bc i'm hard of hearing"...he literally thought I meant DEAF...so HE SCREAMED and pronounced EVERY WORD SLOWLY...great!!!! So, now i'm DEAF.
LOL, so I go into my room, see the BED and immidiately want to fall asleep and the girl on the next bed quickly reminds me...don't do it...not especially if you just got in from a long flight....damn, my body ached for a BED...her and I got to talking...she soon then left...I stood there wondering what I was going to do...After deciding to take my much needed shower, I decided to walk around town.
Man, these people dress to impress...I shouldn't have forgotten my skirt and high heels at home, wait, I don't own a skirt, ha!!!! There was me, lugging my small REI back-packing sporting my hiking boots, while everyone out there was ready to go out, out!!!
Well, all in all, what i've seen so far, which isn't much yet, is really pretty! Man, I'm starving...well, no uploading pictures today. sorry. Don't know what I'll be doing tomorrow...think I want to head up to the Bay of Islands, let see...
Much love,
Me.

Advertisement



16th December 2006

the real trilogy
you and your need to fall asleep everywhere...gosh:) cant wait to see pics
16th December 2006

I wish I was there!
Claudia, its sounds like you got off to a good start! See told ya! Its all about the karma. I wish I was there with you! Regards, J.

Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb