Enjoying Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
April 14th 2013
Published: April 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Still feeling heavenly after my pampering yesterday, we all have a nice lazy Sunday morning, tucking into the freshly baked break Mike has made.

We all head into Wellington at 10.30am and up the incredibly windy roads to Mount Victoria look out. With the sun shining and limited cloud, we are rewarded with the most fabulous views of Wellington, all the suburbs, the bay, and out to sea.

Mike and Caroline then drop me in the city so I can have a wonder round – as its sunny I explore the doc area which has been redeveloped and is lovely, with some nice buildings and decking/path all around the whole of the bay – stretching as far as the eye can see, most of which I walked. I then wonder through the fresh produce weekend market, and drool over the great variety of homemade, fresh food stands. Another notable finds also include an organic supermarket which I browse round, clocking up good health food ideas! After several hours here, and laughing at the ice skating rink that is up in one of the squares on the waterfront, I head into the main shopping streets of the city. Very much like any other city, except here, the clothes shops which dominate are equally split between their regular fashion shops and outdoor shops such as North Face, Katmandu and Macpac. All very tempting but I refrain. I then head up to the famous Cuba street, where there are lots of very querky and cool coffee, shops, eateries and retro clothes shops, and second hand shops (which are very popular here). Finally I head to the government buildings and parliament to observe – all very new and fairly modern looking compared to those at home!

Again, it’s a lovely chilled evening, with Mikes homemade Pizza for dinner – Ben you have a rival, I am afraid to say it is on a par with yours!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1009.7kb