Checking out Petone


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
April 15th 2013
Published: April 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Another lovely lay in (I am clocking up some sleep hours in the sleep bank for the next few weeks) before some climate change discussions with Mike over breakfast.

This morning I walk down the ferricous hill and into Petone which takes around an hour. I spend several hours wandering on Jackson street (the high street), observing again, the eclectic mix of shops. Its very undeveloped, which is nice, I enjoy seeing the real side of New Zealand, so you get the odd posh high end boutique, followed by a odds and ends shop, an second hand shop, the Dutch shop, the British shop, all dispersed with several query really nice coffee houses.
After trying one out (for an fresh apple juice I have to add, I haven’t started drinking coffee), I make a cute little bracelet in the bead shop I come across, and then head down to the Espeanade, to walk along by the sea.
After this I head back, and hop skip and jump up the several kilometre hill back to Mike and Caroline’s house.
We have an early dinner of risotto (yes, homemade by Mike) which is beautiful, before Caroline heads out to tennis. Mike and I spend the evening being highly amused by top gear and chatting away. They have both made me feel so at home here it lovely….though could be a bad move, as I may not leave!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1008.1kb