Cuban Carnival Day!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
February 22nd 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

21st February 2009 - CARNIVAL ME UP!!!!
I woke up at around 7am, tossed and turned in bed for a while trying to get comfy and then after about half an hour I gave in and got up!! I went down for some cereal & a cuppa and then sat in the kitchen area reading my book for an hour. So considerate of me not to wake the others up in the room especially when it is a rubbish book. Perseverance is key though and I was determined to finish it. At around 9am I went up and got showered and tried to make myself look presentable for the day. Nat and I were both ready for around 10am and so we spent some time ensuring that our ferry was booked to get to the South Island the next day and sorting some biking stuff out. Time well spent…managed to get onto the 1pm ferry…no early hungover start for us the following day!!! Sweet As!!!

We had been told that the opening ceremony started at 11 with a street parade. We (us and the Hull guys) made sure we were out in the streets for that time. I expected people running through the streets all dressed up and with torches (like the Olympics) but not much cracking off really. There were a fair few stalls set up and quite a few people dressed up but it wasn’t that busy!! As we strolled through the streets it became clear that there was no opening parade at 11am and we all could have had an extra hour or 4 back at the hostel sleeping. Oh well!!

It was a nice day anyway and so we made the most of the sun and strolled around for a while. As time passed the crowds began to come and the streets got busier. We watched a street show or two….some cringeworthy (see pics) but entertaining all the same!! We followed up our stroll around with a beer….the first of the day and only my 2nd in new Zealand!! It had been a nice morning!!

We had a short wander back to the hostel whilst the boys tried to sort their ferry out too whilst Nat and I sat on the sofas chilling out. It was then time for a team talk to discuss the rest of the plans for the day in order to reduce costs but make the most of the carnival. We also found a programme…the parade was at 9pm…..loads of time to ensure we were there on time and had a top spot to see it all….surely!!

We headed back out to the carnival at around 1pm. We each scouted out a food stall that appealed to us (noodles for me…plain and simple…no comments necessary)!! We then found a good spot on a balcony at an Irish bar where we could sit outside enjoying the festivities yet be out of the hustle and bustle of the streets (rammed by this point)!!! We had a good few beers in the Irish bar…would have been rude not to…and got some good banter going!! Somehow we got onto chat about Guinness and I claimed that 1 pint had 2000 calories in. Bobby was outraged at my comment and bet me a drink that it didn’t. I was confident…a shake of the hand and the bet was on!!! The banter continued until around 4pm when we left to go back to the hostel!!

Back at the hostel it was time for a hearty tea of beans on toast (skinheads on a raft) with added cheese for Nat and I! Come on…we cook properly on most days…this was a make do meal!! Once eaten we sat around and started drinking our own alcohol….cutting down the costs!! We were soon joined by some Irish guys, a guy called Jonny and a random. You know the Irish…they smell drink before they see it. Things quickly stepped up a notch and a drinking game started…ring of fire!! So funny and everyone got a little worse for wear as the game went on. I played my Guinness bet to perfection though…..had a quiet word with the Irish knowing that Bobby would ask them later how many calories were in a pint of Guinness. When he did they backed me up with some serious chat and Bobby fell for it hook line and sinker! Free drink coming my way later!! Sweet As!!!

The game went on for a good while, the Irish had to go out and get themselves more beer (no surprises there then) and by the end they were talking that fast I just had to smile and pretend I understood what they said by nodding!! Brilliant!! None of us realised the time and at 8.50pm we rushed out of the hostel and to the street where the parade would be starting. It was packed and there was no way of getting a good spot. I almost got punched for wheedling my way in. Even so I managed to get near the front and was the only one who stood there and stuck it out. The rest all went to the nearest bar to get a drink and wait for me there. The parade was not half bad especially towards the end. My photos aren’t the best due to the lighting but it was a good parade all the same. Good atmosphere too!! Enjoyed it!!

As it finished I made my way with the crowds to the nearest bar to meet the others. I managed to sneak through a railing and found them much quicker than I thought I would have done!! From there it was all about the drinking and the dancing!! I ended up doing the highland fling and river dancing (trying to anyway) though I didn’t have a Michael Flatley to follow!! The others pretended they weren’t with me for a while!! Once the Irish jigging had stopped we made our way inside for some proper music and I claimed my free drink from Bobby…he wasn’t happy!! Ha!!!

The bars were very busy but we had a good night. A lot of dancing was done…Dave thought he was Michael Jackson which was amusing to watch!! At around 3pm Nat and I left them to it as we had seen enough for the night and had definitely drunk more than our share!! We headed back to the hostel and should have gone straight to bed which Nat did. I thought it may be a good idea to phone home as I felt fine!! Think I gave mum and dad a few laughs with my word slurring!! Good to speak to them though and speak to Alyssa who sounded very grown up at the age of 4!! Once I had slurred my words enough I made my way up to my bed where I fell asleep within minutes!! I was not looking forward to getting up in a few hours!!

22nd February 2009 - GOODBYE NORTH ISLAND!!!!
Funnily enough I felt as fresh as a daisy when I woke at about 8am. Not bad for 4 hours sleep!!! I went straight for some milk which is always a good choice when alcohol has been consumed and then just chilled out downstairs for a while until Nat got up. She didn't feel quite as rosy as me though!! Once we were both dressed and had checked out I left Nat laid out of a sofa and looking after the bags whilst I went into town to try and buy a nice t-shirt I had seen. Bad luck...I had forgotten it was a Sunday and the shop was closed. All the days merge into one when you don't work...sorry to rub it in all you working folk!!! I did get attacked by a plastic bag though as I was on my way back. It was so so windy and a plastic bag flew right into my face. I wrestled with it for a good 10 seconds before getting it off and battling my way against the wind and back to the hostel.

Back at the hostel I woke Nat and we got our stuff and made our way to the car. The walk was tough but I think the bags were needed to keep us from being blown away!! I really thought the ferry wouldn’t be necessary at one point and I would be able to fly in the wind to the South Island. Once we made it to the car I drove us to the ferry terminal in time to load and set off at 1pm. I had really enjoyed the North Island and it was definitely my favourite place so far out of all my travelling. The South Island was supposed to be even better so I could hardly wait to get there!! New Zealand…Awesome!!!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

So cute......!!!So cute......!!!
So cute......!!!

She went for ages with the hoop...better get practicing Alyssa!!!


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb