Working Hard and Hardly Working


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Each day of the week brought a unique experience in a different area of the North Island. Tuesday we did stream monitoring in East Harbor Park. I thought it would be dull, but the place was very peaceful with great views and I learned a lot about water pollution. Since this trip is supposed to help me in the job market, why not learn a thing or two? Even though the water was freezing I didn't mind getting in and splashing around.

Wednesday brought one of the most amazing experiences so far. We drove down to Cape Pallisar which is an out of the way place with only a few homes clumped together hugging the coast. It is a sacred place to the Maori people because the area is an ancient burial ground. It is also an important seal colony because it is the only "rookery" (seal pup nursery) on the North Island. They are such amazing creatures. Many let us stand only a few feet from them while they napped on the rocks. We stumbled upon some tide pools where about 30 juveniles were playing, diving off the rocks and chasing each other. I felt like I was trespassing on their private world, but the moment brought such great joy. It was nothing like a zoo or Sea World, only nature raw and only experienced by a few. They are truly amazing creatures and it was an experience I will never forget. That night we went to my favorite nearby pub, Murphy's Law (a great little Irish Pub in Petone) for quiz night (which we lost badly) and a few drinks to say farewell to the departing volunteers.

Thursday was a quiet day, literally. We did a bird survey in a nearby forest which required us to be still and quiet for 10 minutes at each monitoring spot to listen for birds. I have never been much of a bird lover, though I know some people specifically travel to certain places to do just this, it is not really my cup of tea.

Friday was another rewarding day at the Nga Manu Forest Reserve. We assisted in building a trail through the reserve which preserves some of the last remaining swamp forest on the North Island. It educates school children, residents, and visitors on the native flora and fauna of the area and allows them to experience them. They also have a few native birds and lizards that they breed in hopes of reintroducing them. Unlike the Bushy Park trail building, we had tractors to haul the fill to the trail site. I suppose it's my city dwelling roots that made the tractor driving so exciting, but maneuvering through the forest, up hills and around tight corners while dragging a trailer full of fill was thrilling. I am looking forward to our next trip to the reserve.

This weekend was fairly quiet too. I began a mission, which I will have to continue next weekend, of finding the Chocolate Fish Cafe where the stars of Lord of the Rings are rumored to have spent their days off. It lies somewhere west of Wellington and proved to be a bit farther than I care to walk. I had a nice tour of the harbor though and daydreamed about living in the houses hanging off the mountainside overlooking the Cook Strait. I even took home a little souvenir, a huge blister on my heel. Oh well. Later I found myself at Fidel's a great coffee shop off the funky Cuba Street Mall, dedicated to our favorite dictator to the South (Fidel Castro). I highly recommend the mocchacinos. That night we drank beer and watched the Wellington Hurricanes win (the rugby team).

I have also decided that I need to get serious now about finding myself a little kiwi romance. What is any trip without a fling, especially when it involves sexy accents? Hehe 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb